Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The reconstruction of memory constitutes one of the central themes of the complex film and video projects created by the New Zealand artist Sriwhana Spong (b. 1979). Trained in classical ballet, Spong is especially interested in modern dance as a vehicle for personal expression and how dances can be passed down over the years, brought back to life, and then re-interpreted. Reconstructing historical dances can be highly problematic, however, due to the paucity of complete documentation and the often-idiosyncratic forms of notation. The few rare extant photographs and films can only give a sense of what the original performance was like. Spong takes this lack as her licence to use the medium of film and an individual physicality in her approach to the myths and traditions of modern dance.
The starting point for the dance sequences in »Costume for a Mourner« (2010) is Igor Stravinsky’s music for the ballet »Le chant du rossignol«, based on the fairytale »The Nightingale« by Hans Christian Andersen. the Ballets Russes first performed the ballet with sets from Henri Matisse and choreography by Georges Balanchine in Paris in 1925. In Spong’s version, the figures form a synthesis with their peculiar movements and ornate costumes. With choreography from Benny Ord, Spong manages to overcome historical distance from the impressionist masterpiece via an approach that is determinedly abstract. In spong’s understanding, the notions of remembrance, creation, and forgetting are all regarded as part of the creative process. The artist continues this train of thought in the double projection »Lethe-Wards« (2010), loosely based on the poem »Ode to a Nightingale« by John Keats. In this piece, she stages the act of remembrance with a story evocative of mythology as a foundation for the work’s form and content. The title alludes to the Lethe river of Greek mythology: located in the underworld, those about to enter the realm of the dead could drink from its water to obliterate memories of their previous lives, so that they could start afresh in the afterlife. Here, the work of remembering demands not just research, archaeology and creating new analogies, but it must also be actively transformed and interpreted.
Her films »Beach Study« (2014) and »Learning Duets« (2012) continue this progression by not just illustrating, but by actually recreating one of the artist’s childhood memories in a place now forgotten by the world: Waiheke island near Auckland harbour, whose existence is under threat from changing ownership. With sections no longer accessible to the public, the island may be erased from collective memory and fall into oblivion. Spong confronts the slow process of forgetting with a dance performed on the island, using choreography inspired by nature. Through her use of colour filters, she illustrates the contrast between untouched nature and unconscious mechanisms of repression.


Sriwhana Spong
Beach Study
2012
16mm transferred to HD video
7’30
Image courtesy the artist and Michael Lett
Text: Angela Rosenberg
Translation into English: Amy Pradell
Camera/editing: Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch


Print
Events by DAAD
Im Wintergarten

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Rekonstruktion von Erinnerung ist ein zentrales Thema in den komplexen Film- und Videoarbeiten der neuseeländischen Künstlerin Sriwhana Spong (*1979). Im klassischen Ballett ausgebildet, gilt ihr Interesse besonders dem modernen Tanz als persönlichem Ausdrucksmittel sowie der Überlieferung, Wiederbelebung und Interpretation von Tanzstücken. Aufgrund lückenhafter, wenn überhaupt vorhandener, Dokumentation und oft idiosynkratischer Notationen ist die Rekonstruktion von historischen Tanzstücken höchst problematisch. Die wenigen erhaltenen Fotografien und Filmaufnahmen ermöglichen lediglich Annäherungen an die ursprüngliche Aufführung. Spong nutzt diesen Freiraum, um moderne Tanzmythen bzw. -traditionen durch das Medium Film und mittels einer individuellen Körpersprache neu zu interpretieren.
In den Tanzsequenzen für »Costume for a Mourner« (2010) verwendet Spong als Ausgangsmaterial Igor Strawinskys Ballettmusik »Le chant du rossignol«, die, nach einer Vertonung von Hans Christian Andersens Märchen »Die Nachtigall« für die Ballets Russes, in der Ausstattung von Henri Matisse und der Choreografie von Georges Balanchine 1925 in Paris zur Uraufführung kam. Gemeinsam mit dem Choreografen Benny Ord gelingt Spong die Überwindung der historischen Distanz und eine eigenwillig abstrakte Annäherung an das impressionistische Meisterwerk. Vergessen, Erinnern und Erschaffen des Neuen wird als Teil eines kreativen Prozesses verstanden. Auch in der Doppelprojektion »Lethe-Wards« (2010), frei nach John Keats Gedicht »Ode an eine Nachtigall«, nutzt die Künstlerin eine Vorlage aus der Mythologie als inhaltliches und formales Fundament, um eine Erinnerung in Szene zu setzen. Der Titel verweist auf Lethe, den Unterweltfluss der griechischen Mythologie, dessen Wasser den Trinkenden vor dem Eintritt in das Totenreich alles vergessen lässt, und es Spong erlaubt, von hier aus Erinnerung neu zu konstruieren. Eine Erinnerungsarbeit, die nicht nur auf Recherche, Archäologie und der Erstellung von Analogien besteht, sondern auf aktiver Verwandlung und Interpretation.
in diesem Sinne sind »Beach Study« (2014) und »Learning Duets« (2012) ebenfalls Filmarbeiten, die eine persönliche Kindheitserinnerung der Künstlerin an einen fast vergessenen Ort nicht nur Illustrieren, sondern Aktualisieren: die Insel Waiheke im Hafen von Auckland, deren Existenz aufgrund wechselnder Besitzverhältnisse bedroht ist. Da ein öffentlicher Zugang zur Insel unmöglich gemacht worden ist, verschwindet Waiheke regelrecht von der Bildfläche und damit aus dem kollektiven Gedächtnis. Diesem langsamen Prozess begegnet Spong mit einer Tanzchoreografie, die auf die Natur der Insel reagiert. Unter Verwendung von Farbfiltern führt sie auf poetische Weise den Gegensatz von unberührter Natur und unbewussten Verdrängungsmechanismen vor Augen.


Sriwhana Spong
Beach Study
2012
16mm transferred to HD video
7’30
Image courtesy the artist and Michael Lett
Text: Angela Rosenberg
Kamera/Schnitt: Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch

Print
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Im Wintergarten

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK