Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Lebanese-born documentary filmmaker Eliane Raheb (b. 1972) makes emotionally-charged political movies exploring universal moral themes within the backdrop of the Lebanese Civil War. Trained as a film scholar, Raheb employs an approach that lies at the intersection between political art and documentary film and also evinces traces of investigative journalism. Her debut full-length film Sleepless Nights (2012) achieved international acclaim: according to Variety, “It’s hard to find a Lebanese film that doesn’t focus on the bloody civil war. And yet it is even harder to find a film that treats this topic better than Sleepless Nights.” Sight and Sound, another important trade publication, included the film in its list of the 25 best international films of 2013. In the movie, Raheb stages a confrontation between the former secret service officer Asaad Shaftari and the mother of a Communist who has been missing for fifteen years. Although the events of the Lebanese Civil War took place 30 years ago, the film was moving for the film’s protagonists as well as for audience members throughout the nation. Scenes from the film were even presented as evidence for two mass graves at a trial. Sleepless Nights eschews easy answers and instead examines notions of guilt and forgiveness in their many facets. To name one scene, the director places her real protagonists in a fictional acting workshop to see how they interact. On other occasions, she disrupts the cinematic reality by showing an unplanned confrontation that happened during the shoot, or when she uses a second camera to pan out on the entire scene, thereby highlighting the artifice of filming. The film garnered critical praise and won international prizes, such as the human rights prize at the Cine Invisible in Bilbao, a competition for documentary film at the Birds Eye View Festival in London, and the full-length film competition at the LAIFF Festival in Argentina.
She made her directorial debut with the 1995 short film The last screening (1995), which depicts the special bond between a young girl and the movie theater that once belonged to her grandfather. Since then, she has made several shorter documentary films: in So near yet so far (2002), the filmmaker visits children living in Lebanon, Jordan, and Egypt who dream of traveling to neighboring countries – but Intifada made their dreams obsolete. Suicide (2003) reflects on how affects of the American invasion of Iraq can be felt in Lebanon. While a few intellectuals try to come to terms with the pointlessness of the situation, others become victims of Iraqi propaganda, which leads them to fight for the regime. The film came in second place at the Mumbai Film Festival.
In 2008 she made the hour-long documentary film This is Lebanon, when violence flared up again in Lebanon. As a member of the Christian minority, the film portrays people who fight the establishment and the patriarchal family structure common in the country. According to the filmmaker, both of these tendencies contribute to the religious and political secretarianism. This is Lebanon (2008) was given a special distinction at the Yamagata Film Festival in Japan and was broadcast by ARTE, ZDF, and Al Jadeed.

Raheb, who teaches at the St. Joseph University in Beirut, founded the transnational multimedia documentary film project called Free Arabs (2011-2012) together with her producer Nizar Hassan. As part of the project she has produced 160 short films by young filmmakers from seven countries that were part of Arab Spring. She also served as Artistic Director for the film festival Ayam Beirut Al Cinema´ya for six years.

Text: Maike Wetzel
Translation into English: Amy Pradell
Camera/editing: Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch



Print
Selected filmography: 2012 Sleepless Nights (Documentary, video, 128’) 2008 This is Lebanon (Documentary, video, 58’) 2003 Suicide (Documentary, video, 26’) 2002 So near yet so far (Documentary, video, 58‘)
Events by DAAD
zu Gast im Arsenal

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Die 1972 im Libanon geborene Dokumentarfilm-Regisseurin Eliane Raheb ist eine politische Filmemacherin, die in ihren inszenierten Filmen vor dem Hintergrund des libanesischen Bürgerkriegs mit Schärfe und emotionalem Nachdruck universellen moralischen Fragen nachgeht. Die Herangehensweise der studierten Filmwissenschaftlerin liegt an der Schnittstelle von politischer Kunst zu Dokumentarfilm mit Zügen von investigativem Journalismus. International für Aufsehen sorgte Eliane Raheb mit ihrem zweistündigen Langfilm-Debüt Sleepless Nights (2012): „Es ist schwer, einen libanesischen Film zu finden, der sich nicht mit dem blutigen Bürgerkrieg beschäftigte. Doch es ist weitaus schwieriger, einen besseren Streifen über dieses Thema zu finden als Sleepless Nights.“ (Variety) Ein weiteres wichtiges Branchenblatt, Sight and Sound, zählte den Film zu den 25 besten internationalen Neuerscheinungen des Jahres 2013. Eliane Raheb konfrontiert darin den ehemaligen Geheimdienstoffizier Asaad Shaftari mit der Mutter eines 15jährigen kommunistischen Vermissten. Obwohl die Ereignisse aus dem libanesischen Bürgerkrieg 30 Jahre zurückliegen, wühlte der Film nicht nur seine Protagonisten, sondern die Zuschauer im ganzen Land auf. Szenen daraus dienten sogar als Beweismaterial für zwei Massengräber vor Gericht. Sleepless Nights bietet keine einfachen Antworten, sondern untersucht das Konzept von Schuld und Vergebung auf vielschichtige Art und Weise. Beispielsweise inszeniert die Regisseurin ihre dokumentarischen Protagonisten und lässt sie in einem fiktiven Schauspielworkshop agieren. Ein weiteres Mal gebrochen wird diese filmische Realität, wenn etwa eine zweite Kamera die gesamte Drehsituation enthüllt oder trotz des festen Drehbuchs Konfrontationen live vor der Kamera stattfinden. Der Film heimste weltweit Bewunderung und Preise ein, etwa den Menschenrechtspreis beim Cine Invisible in Bilbao, den Dokumentarfilm-Wettbewerb beim Birds Eye View Festival in London und den Langfilm-Wettbewerb beim LAIFF Festival in Argentinien.
Ihr Debüt als Regisseurin gab Eliane Raheb 1995 mit dem Kurzspielfilm The last screening (1995), der von der spezielle Beziehung eines jungen Mädchens zu dem Kino, das einst ihrem Großvater gehörte, erzählt. Seither drehte sie mehrere kürzere Dokumentarfilme. In So near yet so far (2002) reist die Filmemacherin zu den Kindern im Libanon, Jordanien und Ägypten, die vom Besuch der Nachbarländer träumen. Doch die Intifada hat ihre Träume unmöglich gemacht. In Suicide (2003) reflektiert Eliane Raheb die Auswirkungen der amerikanischen Invasion im Irak auf den Libanon. Während einige Intellektuelle sich mit der Ausweglosigkeit der Situation abfinden, werden andere Opfer der irakischen Propaganda und entschließen sich, an der Seite des Regimes zu kämpfen. Der Film gewann den zweiten Preis beim Mumbai Filmfestival.
Als im Jahr 2008 die Gewalt im Libanon wieder aufflammte, drehte Eliane Raheb den einstündigen Dokumentarfilm This is Lebanon. Als Angehörige der christlichen Minderheit porträtiert sie darin diejenigen, die sich gegen das Establishment und die patriarchalen familiären Strukturen des Landes stellen. Beide Tendenzen bilden, gemäß der Filmemacherin, die Wurzel für religiöses und politisches Sektierertum. This is Lebanon (2008) errang eine besondere Auszeichnung beim Yamagata Filmfestival in Japan und wurde von ARTE, ZDF sowie Al Jadeed ausgestrahlt.

Zusammen mit ihrem Produzenten Nizar Hassan schließlich begründete Eliane Raheb, die an der Beiruter St Joseph University Dokumentarfilm unterrichtet, das transnationale medienübergreifende Dokumentarfilmprojekt Free Arabs (2011-2012) und produzierte in diesem Zusammenhang 160 Kurzfilme von jungen Filmemachern aus sieben verschiedenen Ländern des arabischen Frühlings. Außerdem stand sie sechs Jahre lang dem Filmfestival Ayam Beirut Al Cinema´ya als künstlerische Leiterin vor.

Text: Maike Wetzel
Film still: Sleepless Nights
Kamera/Schnitt: Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch


Print
Filme (Auswahl): 2012 Sleepless Nights (Dokumentarfilm, Video, 128’) 2008 This is Lebanon (Dokumentarfilm, Video, 58’) 2003 Suicide (Dokumentarfilm, Video, 26’) 2002 So near yet so far (Dokumentarfilm, Video, 58 ‘)
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
zu Gast im Arsenal

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK