Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The Irish composer Karen Power (*1977) deliberately seeks out linkages between instrumental music and quotidian sound environments or selected soundscapes. In so doing, she poses fundamental questions about the perception of sound in daily life, the relationship between noise and music, and the significance of concrete sounds for the compositional context. In relocating elk … by train (for bass flute and tape, 2010), for example, she subtly combines the warm, full tones of the flute with the noises that the instrument makes, due to its mechanics, when it is being played. The frequently inaudible sounds of the instrument thus become a concrete component of the work. A dialogue arises between the composed notation for the flute and the delicate sonic elements that arise while generating the notes.
The interweaving of instrumental sounds and everyday noises, as well as of acoustic instruments and electroacoustic elements (no chaos: only organised panic for orchestra and live electronics, 2011 and cows, coffee, birds, bees and a new room for double bass and tape, 2007) form the artistic core of Karen Power’s musical works. She does not simply investigate the characteristics and commonalities of instrumental and electroacoustic music; she strives for integrative strategies that acknowledge their differing potentials and unite them in the compositional work. This manifests itself in her multifaceted œuvre, which ranges from orchestral works, sound installations, soundscape compositions, electroacoustic music, music-dance projects, improvisations and experimental audiovisual projects, all the way to musical Happenings. For Karen Power, this diversity of genres is not merely programmatic; rather, it constitutes the root position of her practice, in order to ultimately dismantle the distinctions between what we commonly call music and what constitutes the rest of our acoustic environment. While »post-minimalist« techniques first sparked her compositional creativity, these increasingly broadened to include experimental and mixed-media concepts (e.g. in once upon a space for cello, bass clarinet, live electronics and dance, 2011). But Karen Power is not solely a composer, she is equally as much an improvising musician and an intermediary on music’s behalf. Quotidian and environmental sounds repeatedly come into play here, too, acting as catalysts for sound landscapes that are created live and that reveal the musicality of the everyday surroundings.
The connection between sound and music, between found and composed sounds, also constitutes the starting point for her current series of works with the Artists-in-Berlin program. In and along the Spree, in empty industrial buildings and modern architectural complexes. Karen Power pursues the usually unnoticed sounds at our doorstep and searches for the »unheard-of« in the urban environment. In solo or in ensemble with instruments, these found sound-objects ultimately become the focus of the compositional work. Has a »Symphony of Small Things « in a variety of media formats already announced itself?

Text: Fabian Czolbe
Translation: Andrea Lerner
Photo: Kai Bienert
Camera/editing: Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch


Print
Events by DAAD
Instruments of Ice (2015, UA)

Vortrag

once below (2015, UA)

Processed Reality

Hugging the Walls. A Tribute to Terry Fox.

Local Sound Art Scenes

Das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD bei Ultraschall Berlin. Festival für Neue Musik

Coordinates IV - New Sonic Geographies

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Instrumentalmusik und alltäglichen Geräuschkulissen oder ausgewählten Soundscapes. Dabei stellt sie grundlegende Fragen nach der Wahrnehmung von Klängen im Alltag, dem Verhältnis zwischen Geräusch und Musik sowie der Bedeutung von konkreten Klängen für den kompositorischen Kontext. In relocating elk … by train (für Bassflöte und Tonband, 2010) verbindet sie zum Beispiel auf subtile Weise die warmen, vollen Töne der Flöte mit Geräuschen, die das Instrument aufgrund der Mechanik während des Spielens erzeugt. Die oftmals unhörbaren Klänge des Instruments werden so selbst zu einem konkreten Bestandteil des Werkes. Es entspinnt sich ein Dialog zwischen komponiertem Flötenton und den feinen Klangelementen der Tonerzeugung.
Die Verflechtung von Instrumentalklängen und Alltagsgeräuschen sowie von akustischen Instrumenten und elektroakustischen Elementen (no chaos: only organised panic für Orchester und Live Elektronik, 2011 oder cows, coffee, birds, bees and a new room für Kontrabass und Tonband, 2007) bildet das künstlerische Zentrum von Karen Powers Schaffen. Sie untersucht dabei nicht nur die Gemeinsamkeiten und Eigenheiten instrumentaler und elektroakustischer Musik, sondern zielt vielmehr auf integrative Strategien, die die unterschiedlichen Potenziale anerkennen und in der kompositorischen Arbeit zusammenführen. Dies zeigt sich in ihrem vielseitigen Schaffen, das sich von Orchesterwerken über Klanginstallationen, Soundscapekompositionen, elektroakustischer Musik, Musik-Tanz-Projekten, Improvisationen und experimentellen audiovisuellen Projekten bis hin zu musikalischen Happenings erstreckt. Diese Genrevielfalt ist für Karen Power nicht nur programmatisch, sie bildet vielmehr die Grundlage ihrer Arbeitspraxis, um letztlich die Grenzen zwischen dem, was wir im allgemeinen Musik nennen, und dem, was der Rest unserer akustischer Umwelt ist, aufzubrechen. Entzündete sich ihr kompositorisches Schaffen zunächst an »post-minimalistischen« Techniken, so werden diese zunehmend um experimentelle und mixed-media Konzepte erweitert (bspw. in once upon a space für Cello, Bassklarinette, Live Elektronik und Tanz, 2011). Karen Power ist aber nicht allein Komponistin, sondern gleichermaßen improvisierende Musikerin und Musikvermittlerin. Auch hier kommen abermals Alltags- und Umgebungsgeräusche zum Einsatz, die nun als Katalysatoren für live entstehende Klanglandschaften agieren und das Musikalische der alltäglichen Umgebung freilegen.
Die Verbindung von Klang und Musik, von Vorgefundenem und Komponiertem, bildet auch Ausgangspunkte ihrer aktuellen Werkserien im Rahmen des Berliner Künstlerprogramms. In und entlang der Spree, in leerstehenden Industriebauten oder modernen Architekturkomplexen geht Karen Power den zumeist unbeachteten Klängen vor unserer Haustür nach und sucht in der urbanen Umwelt so nach »Ungehörtem«. Diese Fundstücke rücken schließlich, solistisch oder im Zusammenspiel mit Instrumenten, in den Fokus der kompositorischen Arbeit. Kündigt sich hier, in medial unterschiedlichen Formaten, eine »Sinfonie der kleinen Dinge« an?

Text: Fabian Czolbe
Foto: Kai Bienert
Kamera/Schnitt: Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch


Print
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Instruments of Ice (2015, UA)

Vortrag

once below (2015, UA)

Processed Reality

Hugging the Walls. A Tribute to Terry Fox.

Local Sound Art Scenes

Das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD bei Ultraschall Berlin. Festival für Neue Musik

Coordinates IV - New Sonic Geographies

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK