Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The quotidian merges with the poetic in the films of the Brazilian director Clarissa Campolina (b. 1979), creating intense, documentary-style, impressionistic cinematic imagery. The plot is carried along these images – instead of the reverse. With her debut full-length film Girimunho (Swirl, 2011), she achieved international acclaim for the subtle artistry of her narrative technique. The director made this and a few other films with Helvécio Marins, who was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin program in 2014. Girimunho was awarded the Interfilm Prize at the Venice International Film Festival. As Michael Baute wrote in taz: “Today we encounter films that are so unique at the level of form and content, so striking and innovative, that it becomes difficult to capture them with the usual words we have at our disposal. (…) With a subtle philosophical tone, Girimunho presents a world captivating in its complexity and imbued with myth and song.” The film impressed critics from Hollywood to Madrid. Campolina’s short films also won awards, such as at festivals in Rotterdam, Brasilia or Rio de Janeiro.
To date, Campolina has created five short films and one feature film. She has also edited numerous films from other directors, including Nascente (2005) by Helvécio Marins. She studied visual arts and filmmaking in Brazil. She was among the five other filmmakers who founded TEIA (www.teia.art.br) in Belo Horizonte in 2001, a center for the audio-visual arts and film production. The group has already garnered over 50 prizes worldwide and their participants are often invited to present their films at important international festivals, such as those held in Venice, Locarno, Sundance, Toronto, San Sebastian, Rotterdam, and Karlovy Vary, among many others. In 2012 she was one of the founders of the production company Anavilhana.
Girimunho (2011) means “swirl.” The film, which takes place along the red banks of the São Francisco river, blurs dream-states with reality in movements reminiscent of the eponymous swirl. “Patience is very important,” remarks one of the characters. And patience is also a virtue shared by the filmmakers: it took six years to shoot the film. Many of the extraordinary amateur actors in Girimunho are related. The leading role (Bastú) is performed by the 81-year-old Maria Sebastian Martins Álvaro. After her husband dies, she becomes haunted by strange noises and visions, eventually leaving home in an attempt to get rid of these ghosts. She decides to bring her husband’s belongings to his brother. The road movie was honored in Havanna and won the Special Jury Prize and the Youth Jury Prize in Nantes.
Campolina’s short film Adormecidos / Asleep (2011) is a visual meditation on the poetry of everyday life: in the film, lights, lighted advertisements, and the people they depict all come to life at night. The film was presented at numerous festivals, such as the Buenos Aires International Independent Film Festival, and won a prize at the Eighth International Women’s Film Festival in Rio de Janeiro.
The short film Trecho / Passage (2006) uses an audio-visual diary to document a trip taken eight years ago. The film accompanies the character Libério during his peregrinations along the Brazilian highways. Together with her trusted filmmaking partner Marins, in the film Campolina employs a visual language that oscillates between gritty, experimental, and documentary styles to recount her protagonist’s travels and, along the way, reflect on the nature of the film’s own creation. Trecho was awarded the prize for best short film at the most important Brazilian film festival in Brasilia. The film premiered at the Rotterdam Film Festival, where it was nominated for best short film.

Text: Maike Wetzel
Translation into English: Amy Pradell
Camera/editing: Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch


Print
Selected filmography: 2012 Odete (Short film, HD video, 16’) 2011 Girimunho / Der Wirbel (Feature film, 35 mm, 90‘) 2011 Adormecidos / Asleep (Short film, HD video, 7’) 2009 Notas Flanantes / Wandering Notes (Experimental film, HD video, 47’) 2006 Trecho / Passage (Short film, 35 mm, 16 ‚)
Events by DAAD
zu Gast im Arsenal

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Alltägliches und Poetisches verbindet sich in den Filmen der 1979 geborenen brasilianischen Regisseurin Clarissa Campolina zu dokumentarisch anmutenden, impressionistischen Kinogemälden von großer Intensität. Es sind die Bilder, die die Handlung tragen – und nicht umgekehrt. Kunstvoll unaufdringlich, hingetupft sorgte diese Erzählweise spätestens seit Clarissa Campolinas Langfilmdebüt Girimunho (Der Wirbel, 2011) für internationale Aufmerksamkeit. Die Regisseurin realisierte diesen sowie weitere Filme gemeinsam mit Helvécio Marins, der 2014 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms war. Beim Filmfestival von Venedig erhielt Girimunho den Interfilm-Preis. In der taz schrieb Michael Baute: „Bisweilen begegnen einem Filme, deren formale und inhaltliche Eigenständigkeit so frappierend und neuartig ist, dass es schwerfällt, ihnen mit herkömmlichen Worten beizukommen. (…) Mit einem unaufdringlich philosophischen Tonfall präsentiert ‚Girimunho‘ eine Welt, die, durchzogen von Mythen und Gesängen, eine berückende Komplexität besitzt.“ Von Hollywood bis Madrid erntete der Film begeisterte Kritiken. Auch die Kurzfilme von Clarissa Campolina wurden, etwa bei den Festivals in Rotterdam, Brasilia oder Rio de Janeiro ausgezeichnet.
Bislang realisierte Clarissa Campolina einen Spielfilm sowie fünf Kurzfilme. Außerdem montierte sie zahlreiche Filme anderer Regisseure, darunter Nascente (2005) von Helvécio Marins. Sie studierte in Brasilien bildende Kunst und Filmemachen. Gemeinsam mit fünf anderen Filmemachern gründete sie 2001 in Belo Horizonte TEIA (www.teia.art.br), ein Zentrum für audiovisuelle Kunst und Filmproduktion. Bislang hat die Gruppe weltweit über 50 Preise eingeheimst und ihre Werke wurden zu wichtigen internationalen Festival eingeladen. Darunter Venedig, Locarno, Sundance, Toronto, San Sebastian, Rotterdam, Karlovy Vary und viele andere. 2012 gehörte sie zu den Gründern der Produktionsfirma Anavilhana.
Girimunho (2011) bedeutet Wirbel. In einer ähnlichen Bewegung verbinden sich in dem Film Realität und Traum, rund um die rote Erde am Ufer des São-Francisco-Stroms. „Geduld ist sehr wichtig“, bemerkt eine der Figuren. Und Geduld bewiesen auch die Filmemacher: Die Dreharbeiten dauerten sechs Jahre. Viele der außergewöhnlichen Laiendarsteller in Girimunho sind blutsverwandt. Die Hauptrolle (Bastú) spielt die 81-jährige Maria Sebastian Martins Álvaro. Nach dem Tod ihres Ehemanns wird sie von merkwürdigen Geräuschen und Erscheinungen heimgesucht. Um den Spuk zu bannen, bricht sie auf. Sie will das Habe ihres Mannes zu dessen Bruder zu bringen. Das Roadmovie wurde auch in Nantes (Special Jury Prize und Youth Jury Prize) sowie in Havanna ausgezeichnet.
Auch Clarissa Campolinas Kurzfilm Adormecidos / Asleep (2011) ist eine visuelle Meditation über die Poesie des Alltags: In der Nacht werden die Lichter, die Leuchtreklamen und Werbegesichter lebendig. Der Film lief auf zahlreichen Festivals, wurde beim 8. Internationalen Frauenfestival in Rio de Janeiro ausgezeichnet und lief unter anderem beim Festival des Unabhängigen Films in Buenos Aires.
Das audiovisuelle Tagebuch einer acht Jahre zuvor unternommenen Reise ist dagegen der Kurzfilm Trecho / Passage (2006). Der Film begleitet Libério auf seiner Wanderung an den brasilianischen Autobahnen entlang. In einer erneut zwischen körnigen, dokumentarisch anmutenden und beinahe experimentell beschnittenen Fragmenten oszillierenden Bildsprache erzählt Clarissa Campolina in bewährter Zusammenarbeit mit Helvécio Marins von der Reise ihres Protagonisten und reflektiert dabei auch den Prozess der Entstehung des Films. Trecho erhielt beim wichtigsten brasilianischen Filmfestival in Brasilia, die Auszeichnung als bester Kurzfilm. Der Film feierte seine Premiere beim Rotterdamer Filmfestival und wurde dort für den Kurzfilmwettbewerb nominiert.

Text: Maike Wetzel
Fill Still: Odete
Kamera/Schnitt: Uli Aumüller, Sebastian Rausch


Print
Filme (Auswahl): 2012 Odete (Kurzfilm, HD Video, 16’) 2011 Girimunho / Der Wirbel (Spielfilm, 35 mm, 90‘) 2011 Adormecidos / Asleep (Kurzfilm, HD Video, 7’) 2009 Notas Flanantes / Wandering Notes (Experimentalfilm, HD Video, 47’) 2006 Trecho / Passage (Kurzfilm, 35 mm, 16 ‚)
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
zu Gast im Arsenal

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK