Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Michael Pelzel takes his organ engagements very seriously. And in order to be sitting punctually at the organ on Sundays, he might even travel back to Switzerland in the middle of the night if necessary. But now the reformed church congregation in Stäfa on Lake Zürich will probably have to do without their organist for some time, since the organist and composer Michael Pelzel is living for a year in Berlin as the guest of the Berlin Artists-in-Residence Program of the DAAD.
Pelzel relates how from the beginning, the organ’s wealth of sounds and its power had fascinated him. And by this he means not the instrument’s monolithic monumentality, but rather its sonic subtleties. For Michael Pelzel is an extremely sound-oriented composer. The music of the fin de siècle, the late 19th and early 20th centuries, is appealing to him and, in its opulence and refinement, it is also a model for his own works – which by no means cater to retro yearnings; rather, they are complex state-of-the-art scores.
Pelzel’s work covers the entire spectrum of instrumental music, from solo works to chamber music to works for orchestra. Of special significance are several of his chamber works for large ensembles, which will be performed in January 2015, during a portrait concert at the Ultraschall Festival. Until now, vocal music has not played a major role in his oeuvre, but this will change during the course of his year in Berlin.
Michael Pelzel seems in some respects to be a person deeply connected to his homeland. Born in Rapperswil in 1978, he feels an intimate relationship with Lake Zürich and its old, majestic paddlewheel steamers. He has been living for a long time in Stäfa, a lakeside village near Zürich. But he has already spent half a year in Africa – and now comes Berlin.
Prelude to the invitation from the Berlin Artists-in-Residence Program of the DAAD was the Busoni Composition Prize of the Berlin Akademie der Künste, which he received in 2011. (One of many prizes Pelzel has been awarded in recent years.) In his laudatio on that occasion, Enno Poppe praised the composer’s ability to “transform influences into something personal”: Michael Pelzel “is one of the most passionate composers I know”, according to Poppe. Indeed, among Swiss composer’s most striking character traits is his extraordinary enthusiasm.
That inner glow becomes clear, for example, when the tremendously well-read composer speaks about his favorite writer Hermann Burger. Before long Pelzel has begun to enthuse, becoming excited about details that would escape the notice of most others. His interests as a composer also hinge on such details. His careful design for the overall form is at once a cornucopia of finely drawn microorganisms and sounds. Everything in these works, to cite Enno Poppe once more, has been re-listened to many times and reworked to the utmost.
Pelzel has something else in common with Burger, that unfortunately little-known Swiss writer: his sense of eccentricity, his drollness. Not as a compositional means designed to call attention to itself, but born of a deeper, authentically felt affinity for the artificial, for artifice, which he transforms into art.
How else would someone come up with the idea of making Diabelli – the “prestidigitator” to whom Hermann Burger devoted a wonderfully concocted short story – the hero of a work of music theater? Pelzel is impelled by the virtuosity of the magician and of acrobatics, an interest in games of hide-and-seek and in illusion. And this is where we find ourselves on genuine musical terrain.
While in Berlin, Pelzel will primarily devote himself to his music theater project. He will be feeding off of an earlier “sin”, as he puts it, a musical he composed in his early years, which – although it sidetracked him stylistically on paths he did not pursue – did provide him with experience in creating music for the stage. Do not expect an “opera” in the traditional sense. Rather, an artistic spectacle, a carnival awaits us: a highly virtuosic arabesque, a flamboyant Mannerist étude.
And during his Berlin residency, Pelzel will most certainly be active as an organist, with works of his own and by others.

Text: Rainer Pöllmann, 2014




Print
photo: Vinzenz Niedermann

www.michaelpelzel.ch

Events by DAAD
Orgelkonzert

Mikrotonalität als System und Kultur

Vorhang auf...

216. Musik der Gegenwart

...sentiers tortueux... ...along 101... Sempiternal Lock-in

Komplexität in der Musik - Vortragskonzert

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Seinen Orgeldienst nimmt Michael Pelzel sehr ernst. Um am Sonntag pünktlich auf der Orgel zu sitzen, fährt er notfalls auch noch mitten in der Nacht zurück in die Schweiz. Aber jetzt wird die reformierte Kirchengemeinde in Stäfa am Zürichsee auf ihren Organisten wohl für einige Zeit verzichten müssen. Denn der Organist und Komponist Michael Pelzel ist für ein Jahr in Berlin, als Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.
Die Klangfülle und die Kraft der Orgel, so sagt er, hätten ihn von Anfang an fasziniert. Und meint damit weniger das Blockartig-Monumentale, sondern die klanglichen Feinheiten. Denn Michael Pelzel ist ein ausgesprochen klangorientierter Komponist. Die Musik des Fin de Siècle, des späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts hat es ihm angetan, und deren Raffinesse und Opulenz ist Vorbild auch für die eigenen Werke – die mitnichten Retro-Sehnsüchte befriedigen, sondern komplexe Partituren auf der Höhe der Zeit sind.
Vom Solostück über Kammermusik bis zum Orchesterstück hat Pelzel das gesamte Spektrum von Instrumentalmusik abgedeckt. Besonderes Gewicht haben einige groß besetzte Ensemblewerke, die beim Festival Ultraschall im Januar 2015 in einem Porträtkonzert zu hören sein werden. Vokalmusik spielt bisher keine herausgehobene Rolle, aber das wird sich nicht zuletzt in seinem Berliner Jahr ändern.
Michael Pelzel scheint einesteils ein ziemlich heimatverbundener Mensch zu sein. Geboren 1978 in Rapperswil, verbindet ihn mit dem Zürichsee und den alten, majestätischen Raddampfern eine innige Beziehung. Seit längerem lebt er in Stäfa, etwas oberhalb von Zürich. Andernteils hat er auch schon ein halbes Jahr in Afrika verbracht – und nun beginnt also Berlin.
Das Präludium zur Einladung durch das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD war der Busoni-Kompositionspreis der Akademie der Künste, den er 2011 erhielt. (Einer von zahlreichen Preisen, die Pelzel in den letzten Jahren abräumte.) In seiner Laudatio rühmte Enno Poppe damals die Fähigkeit, „Einflüsse in etwas Persönliches zu verwandeln“. Michael Pelzel, so Poppe, gehöre „zu den begeisterungsfähigsten Komponisten“, die er kenne. In der Tat, zu den hervorstechendsten Eigenschaften des Schweizer Komponisten gehört sein außerordentlicher Enthusiasmus.
Deutlich wird solche innere Glut zum Beispiel, wenn der enorm belesene Komponist über seinen Lieblingsschriftsteller Hermann Burger erzählt. Da gerät er binnen kürzester Zeit ins Schwärmen, kann sich auch an Details begeistern, die andere gar nicht bemerken würden. Auch sein kompositorisches Interesse macht sich an solchen Details fest. Die bewusst gestaltete Großform ist auch ein Füllhorn von detailliert ausgearbeiteten Mikro-Organismen und Klängen. Alles in diesen Werken, um noch einmal Enno Poppe zu zitieren, sei durchgehört und durchgearbeitet.
Und noch etwas hat Pelzel mit dem heute leider nur noch wenig gelesenen Schweizer Schriftsteller gemeinsam. Es ist der Sinn für das Exzentrische, für das Skurrile. Nicht als Gestaltungsmittel eines gezielt um Aufmerksamkeit bemühten Komponierens, sondern getragen von einer tiefen, ehrlich ehrlich empfundenen Sympathie für das Artifizielle, für das Künstliche, das er in ein Künstlerisches verwandelt.
Wie sonst käme man auf die Idee, den „Prestidigitateur“ Diabelli, dem Hermann Burger eine wunderbar verschraubte Erzählung widmete, zum Helden eines Musiktheaters zu machen? Die Virtuosität der Zauberkünstler, die Akrobatik fordert ihn heraus, das Interesse am Versteckspiel, an der Illusion treibt ihn an. Und da befinden wir uns ja dann auf genuin musikalischem Gebiet.
In Berlin wird sich Pelzel also vornehmlich seinem Musiktheater-Projekt widmen. Und dabei zehren von einem frühen „Sündenfall“, wie er sagt, einem in jungen Jahren komponierten Musical, das ihm – wenngleich es ihn auf stilistische Abwege führte, die er nicht weiter verfolgte – Erfahrungen mit Musik für die Bühne verschaffte. Eine „Oper“ im traditionellen Sinn ist nicht zu erwarten. Vielmehr ein artistisches Zirzensium, eine hochvirtuose, arabeske, flamboyante, manieristische Etüde.
Und ganz bestimmt wird er in seinem Berliner Jahr auch als Organist tätig werden. Mit eigenen und fremden Werken.

Text: Rainer Pöllmann, 2014




Print
Foto: Vinzenz Niedermann

www.michaelpelzel.ch

Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Orgelkonzert

Mikrotonalität als System und Kultur

Vorhang auf...

216. Musik der Gegenwart

...sentiers tortueux... ...along 101... Sempiternal Lock-in

Komplexität in der Musik - Vortragskonzert

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK