Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Impressive amateur actors, evocative, impressionistic images and a great contemplative power of observation lend a documentary-like quality to Helvécio Marins Jr.’s feature film debut Girimunho. The award-winning director was born in Belo Horizonte, Brazil in 1973 and still lives there today. He has already received over fifty international prizes for his work.
Ever since his first feature film Girimunho (Swirl, 2011), which he co-directed with Clarissa Campolina, Marins has gained worldwide acclaim as a director. The film received the Interfilm Award at the Venice Film Festival and in the German newspaper taz, Michael Baute wrote, “Sometimes one encounters films where the independence of form and content is so remarkable and new that it is difficult to talk about them with conventional phrases.” He continues, “Girimunho shows, with an inconspicuously philosophical tone, a world pervaded by myths and songs that possesses an enchanting complexity.” The film has garnered enthusiastic reviews from Hollywood all the way to Madrid. Marins’s short films have also received international prizes at the festivals in Locarno and Mannheim-Heidelberg; they have been shown at important international festivals such as the Biennale, Toronto and San Sebastian; museums like the Centre Georges Pompidou and the MoMA had them in their programs; and various television channels around the world have broadcast them. Marins received a grant from the Hubert Bals Fund and is now working on his second feature film. The director earned his Master’s degree in film from the Pontifical Catholic University in Rio de Janeiro.
“Patience is very important,” says one of the characters in Girimunho (2011). And patience is precisely what the members of the film crew themselves displayed during the shooting, which lasted six years. Many of the extraordinary amateur actors in Girimunho are blood relatives. Felipe Bragança, a DAAD Artists-in-Berlin guest in 2013, wrote the script. The main character (Bastú) is played by 81-year-old Maria Sebastian Martins Álvaro. After the death of her husband, Bastú is haunted by strange noises and apparitions. In order to ward off the ghastly occurrences, she leaves, deciding to bring her husband’s personal belongings to his brother. The film’s title, Girimunho, or swirl, describes the movement in which the film connects dream with reality in the red clay along the shore of the São Francisco River. After the road movie was awarded the Interfilm Award in Venice, it also received prizes in Nantes (Special Jury Prize) and Havana.
Marins needs only a man and a boat – and not a word of dialogue – to tell a parable about freedom in his short film Nascente (2005). The sea will ultimately swallow up the rowboat, but the old man sits back with a smile and watches it happen. The film won prizes in Barcelona, Vilnius and Mannheim-Heidelberg, and was selected to compete at festivals in Rotterdam, Rome and Sydney, among others.
Then there is Nem Marche nem Chouta (2009), a documentary-like study of a market stand with raw meat. A young boy stands behind the carcasses covered in flies and gazes into the camera. Then he goes away. The camera pans to a gnawed cow skull on the floor and fades to black. But this seemingly incidental cinematographic moment lingers in the mind of the viewers.


Text: Maike Wetzel
English translation: Jocelyn Polen


Print
Films: 2012 O Canto do Rocha (short film, beta digital, 20’) 2011 Girimunho – Co-director: Clarissa Campolina (feature film, 35 mm, 90’) 2009 Nem Marche nem Chouta (short film, video, 7’) 2006 Trecho (short film, 35 mm, 18’) 2005 Nascente (short film, 35 mm, 17’) 2003 2 Homens (short film, 16 mm, 5’) 2003 Alma Nua (video installation, video, 6’)
Events by DAAD
Vorhang auf...

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Beeindruckende Laiendarsteller, stimmungsvolle, impressionistische Bilder und eine große, kontemplative Beobachtungsgabe verleihen, insbesondere dem Langfilmdebüt „Girimunho“ von Helécio Marins Jr., eine semi-dokumentarische Qualität. Der vielfach ausgezeichnete Regisseur wurde 1973 in Belo Horizonte, Brasilien, geboren, wo er bis heute lebt. Über fünfzig internationale Preise erhielt Helvécio Marins Jr. bereits für sein Schaffen.
Spätestens seit seinem, gemeinsam mit Clarissa Campolina realisierten, Erstlingsfilm „Girimunho“ (Der Wirbel, 2011) ist der Regisseur weltweit bekannt. Beim Filmfestival von Venedig erhielt der Spielfilm den Interfilm Preis. In der taz schrieb Michael Baute: „Bisweilen begegnen einem Filme, deren formale und inhaltliche Eigenständigkeit so frappierend und neuartig ist, dass es schwerfällt, ihnen mit herkömmlichen Worten beizukommen.“ Und weiter: „Mit einem unaufdringlich philosophischen Tonfall präsentiert „Girimunho“ eine Welt, die, durchzogen von Mythen und Gesängen, eine berückende Komplexität besitzt.“ Von Hollywood bis Madrid erntete der Film begeisterte Kritiken. Auch die Kurzfilme von Helvécio Marins Jr. wurden, etwa beim Festival in Locarno oder Mannheim-Heidelberg, weltweit ausgezeichnet. Sie liefen auf wichtigen internationalen Festivals wie der Biennale, Toronto oder San Sebastian. Aber auch Museen wie zum Beispiel das Centre Georges Pompidou oder das MoMa hatten sie im Programm. Rund um den Globu strahlten verschiedene Fernsehsender sie aus. Momentan arbeitet Helvécio Marins Jr. mit einem Stipendium des Hubert Bals Fund an seinem zweiten Langfilm. Der Regisseur absolvierte ein Film-Masterstudium an der PUC Universität in Rio de Janeiro.
„Geduld ist sehr wichtig“, sagt eine der Figuren in „Girimunho“ (2011). Und Geduld bewiesen auch die Filmemacher: Die Dreharbeiten dauerten sechs Jahre. Viele der außergewöhnlichen Laiendarsteller in „Girimunho“ sind blutsverwandt. Das Drehbuch verfasste Felipe Bragança, der 2013 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms war. Die Hauptrolle (Bastú) spielt die 81jährige Maria Sebastian Martins Álvaro. Nach dem Tod ihres Ehemanns wird sie von merkwürdigen Geräuschen und Erscheinungen heimgesucht. Um den Spuk zu bannen, bricht sie auf. Sie will die Habe ihres Mannes zu dessen Bruder zu bringen. „Girimunho“ bedeutet Wirbel. In einer ähnlichen Bewegung verbinden sich in dem Film Realität und Traum, rund um die rote Erde am Ufer des São-Francisco-Stroms. Das Roadmovie wurde nach dem Interfilm Preis in Venedig auch in Nantes (Special Jury Prize und Youth Jury Prize) sowie in Havanna ausgezeichnet.
Nur einen Mann und ein Boot, aber keinen Dialog braucht Helvécio Marins Jr. in seinem Kurzfilm „Nascente“ (2005), um eine Parabel über die Freiheit zu erzählen. Das Meer wird schließlich das Ruderboot verschlingen. Der alte Mann aber sieht ihm lächelnd dabei zu. Der Film erhielt Preise in Barcelona, Vilnius und in Mannheim-Heidelberg. Er wurde unter anderem für den Wettbewerb der Festivals in Rotterdam, Rom und Sydney ausgewählt.
„Nem Marche nem Chouta“ (2009) dagegen ist die dokumentarisch anmutende Beobachtung eines Marktstandes mit rohem Fleisch. Ein kleiner Junge steht hinter den mit Fliegen bedeckten Tierkadavern und schaut in die Kamera. Dann geht er weg. Die Kamera schwenkt auf einen abgenagten Kuhschädel am Boden. Abblende auf Schwarz. Doch im Kopf des Betrachters schwingt dieser wie nebenbei gefilmte cineastische Augenblick nach.



Text: Maike Wetzel
Foto: Still aus Alma Nua


Print
Filme: 2012 O Canto do Rocha (Kurzfilm, Beta digital, 20’) 2011 Girimunho - Co-Regie: Clarissa Campolina (Spielfilm, 35 mm, 90’) 2009 Nem Marche nem Chouta (Kurzfilm, Video, 7’) 2006 Trecho (Kurzfilm, 35 mm, 18’) 2005 Nascente (Kurzfilm, 35 mm, 17’) 2003 2 Homens (Kurzfilm, 16 mm, 5’) 2003 Alma Nua (Videoinstallation, Video, 6’)
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Vorhang auf...

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK