Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
At the centre of Chitti Kasemkitvatana's work stands a concept of emptiness, of the presence of the absent/absence with particular focus on its permeability. The Thai artists draws no distinctions, either between various positions in the art world, or between art and everything else, spirituality for instance. Following an active period in the Bangkok art scene during the 1990s Kasemkitvatana lived in a forest monastery in the north of Thailand from 2002 and 2010.

Then, as today – before and after his time in the monastery –Kasemkitvatana propagates a radically expanded concept of art, as social practice above all, a sphere of enabling, a domain of encounter, a network and free space. Artistic, curatorial and publishing work all have an equal footing within these parameters; the boundaries between spheres are fluid. At the turn of the millennium, for example, he worked with Rirkrit Tiravanija at Ver Magazine and curated exhibitions for the About Art Related Activities (AARA) project in About Cafe, one of the main art locations in the city at the time. Since 2012 he has been part of a group that runs Messy Project Space in Bangkok (and also publishes the Messy Sky Magazine with Pratchaya Phinthong).

In his own artistic work Kasemkitvatana also focuses on the moment in which various spheres become “porous”. This also applies to his biography, where the interruption of his art career to spend time in a monastery should not be regarded as a retreat from art, nor his eventual return to the art world as a end to his preoccupation with spirituality. The various fields and periods are interwoven in a multitude of ways. Recent exhibitions such as Tomorrow Was Yesterday (2011) at the Jim Thompson foundation in Bangkok, assimilate old works from the 1990s, transforming them, paying respect to Kasemkitvatana's old teacher Aleks Danko, and incorporating experiences from the monastery.

His works and exhibitions return again and again to themes of emptiness and concentration: books with empty pages, elaborately folded paper fans, empty wooden boxes (as seen for example in the exhibition mo(nu)ment / [...] / memor(y)ial – another transmission (2012) at gb agency/Leven One in Paris). As part of a performance performed 2012 in Paris for series no. 00 Kasemkitvatana attempted to transfer a coin into the Zone de Sensibilité Picturale Immaterielle proclaimed by Yves Klein at the same location 50 years earlier. The idea was to translate a piece of materiality into immateriality and thus render the void tangible.


Print
Events by DAAD
Vorhang auf...

Messy Sky Magazine

One moment into another. A collision.

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Im Zentrum von Chitti Kasemkitvatanas Werk steht ein Begriff der Leere, der Anwesenheit des Abwesenden unter besonderer Berücksichtigung seiner Durchlässigkeit; der thailändische Künstler zieht keine Grenzen zwischen verschiedenen Registern, nicht zwischen verschiedenen Positionen innerhalb des Kunstfeldes, und auch nicht zwischen der Kunst und allem anderen, der Spiritualität zum Beispiel: Nach einer aktiven Zeit in der Kunstszene Bangkoks während der 1990er Jahre, lebte Kasemkitvatana zwischen 2002 und 2010 zurückgezogen in einem Wald-Kloster im Norden Thailands.

Damals wie heute – vor und nach seinen Jahren im Kloster – propagiert Kasemkitvatana einen stark erweiterten Kunstbegriff und buchstabiert Kunst vor allem sozial: Als Sphäre der Ermöglichung, als Domäne der Begegnung, als Netzwerk und Freiraum. Künstlerisches, kuratorisches und publizistisches Engangement werden in diesem Rahmen als gleichwertig begriffen, die Grenzen zwischen beiden Sphären sind fließend. So arbeitete Kasemkitvatana um die Jahrtausendwende herum gemeinsam mit Rirkrit Tiravanijas am Ver Magazine oder kuratierte für das Projekt About Art Related Activities (AARA) Ausstellungen im About Café, einem der damals zentralen Kunstorte der Stadt. Seit 2012 betreibt er gemeinsam mit anderen erneut einen Projektraum in Bangkok, den sogenannten Messy Project Space (und gibt, gemeinsam mit Pratchaya Phinthong, auch wieder ein Magazin heraus, das Messy Sky Magazine).

Auch in seiner eigenen künstlerischen Arbeit steht für Kasemkitvatana der Moment im Mittelpunkt, an dem die verschiedenen Sphären, wie er es nennt, „porös“ werden, durchlässig. Das gilt auch im Hinblick auf seine eigene Biografie: Die Unterbrechung des Künstlerdaseins durch die Zeit im Kloster soll nicht als Rückzug aus der Kunst verstanden werden, die anschließende Rückkehr in den Kunstbetrieb nicht als Schlusspunkt der Beschäftigung mit Spiritualität. Auf vielfältige Weise sind die unterschiedlichen Bereiche und Abschnitte miteinander verwoben. Die Ausstellungen der letzten Jahre nehmen dann auch – wie etwa Tomorrow Was Yesterday (2011) in der Jim Thompson Foundation in Bangkok – alte Arbeiten aus den 1990er Jahren wieder auf, transformieren diese aber, erweisen Kasemkitvatanas altem Lehrer Aleks Danko Reverenz, und inkorporieren Erfahrungen im Kloster.

Immer wieder kreisen Arbeiten und Ausstellungen um Themen der Leere und der Konzentration: Bücher mit blanken Seiten, kunstvoll aufgefaltete Papierfächer, schlichte, leere Holzschachteln (zu sehen beispielsweise in der Ausstellung mo(nu)ment / [...] / memor(y)ial – another transmission (2012) bei gb agency/Leven One in Paris). Für series no. 00 versuchte Kasemkitvatana 2012 in Paris, im Rahmen einer Performance eine Münze in die just fünfzig Jahre vorher am gleichen Ort von Yves Klein proklamierte Zone de Sensibilité Picturale Immaterielle zu überführen. Das buchstäblich Materielle sollte ins Immaterielle übersetzt und die Leere somit greifbar werden.


Print
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Vorhang auf...

Messy Sky Magazine

One moment into another. A collision.

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK