Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Øyvind Torvund, born 1976 in Oslo, is one of those composers who are not content to preserve the legacy of new music, but who search for fresh aspects and strategies to artistically express their own contemporary experiences. “At some point I started to miss the freedom that I thought I ought to have as a composer of contemporary music”, he describes the situation at the end of his schooling. Torvund doesn’t want to simply accept new music as an institutionalized status quo, but rather to give the experiential horizon of the twenty-first century a unique musical form. To this end he adopts quite disparate strategies ranging from a complete concentration on technology to a complete concentration on nature. “I’ve simply tried out different approaches. Not out of despair. I haven’t composed a ‘seemingly different music’, but have given my ideas free rein.”

In his works from 2010 onward, both the forest and playing music in the forest assume an important role — as environment, as sound material, and also as an aesthetic arbiter. For Neon Forest Space (2010), Forest Construction (2012) and Falling Constellations (2012) Torvund recorded musicians improvising in the forest. Nature thus functions as a model and instructor, but is also the projection screen for a yearning for purity and innocence. Already in Wolfstudies (2006), recordings of howling wolves were to be heard ambiguously as both untouched animal sounds and simplistic cliché. With works of this kind, Torvund signals a break between the innate and unmediated need to behave musically in relation to the world and the rarefied techniques of the avant-garde. The teaching situation that is at the heart of his concert environment Bandrom (2003–2009) also exposes the contradiction between the oral culture of folk music and the complexity of an avant-garde reliant on written notation, in that both Norwegian folk music and modern works are subjected to a learning process based on playing and imitation, not on scores.

With these kinds of scenarios, Torvund also refers to his own history as an electric guitarist in rock and improvisational groups, part of his biography that the composer, who studied in Oslo und Berlin, has always emphasized in pieces like the hardcore-inspired Power Art (2002) or in Album (2004), a cycle that plays with riffs from pop, baroque and free jazz. Torvund’s technological socialization occasionally filters into his works in pieces using an overhead projector (A Lecture about Ornaments, 2004), in nerve-shattering recordings of electronics (Krull Quest, 2004), or in the glam pre-sets of an antiquated drum machine in Album. This propinquity to computer games and 8-bit aesthetics also represents an opening of the avant-garde to other realms of our lives that have as yet scarcely been touched by new music, and devoting himself to these realms is part of the artistic freedom Torvund has chosen.

Text: Björn Gottstein
Image: Stian Andersen


Print


http://oyvindtorvund.com/

Events by DAAD
Labor Sonor: »Das Klatschen der zweiten Hand #4«

Øyvind Torvund & Splittergruppe III, A visit from a Sound Sculpture, Konzert

plastic wave

Constructing Jungle Books (2013 / 2014) UA

Constructing Jungle Books (2013 / 2014)

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Øyvind Torvund, 1976 in Oslo geboren, gehört zu den Komponisten, die sich nicht damit abfinden, das Erbe der neuen Musik zu verwalten, sondern die nach neuen Aspekten und Strategien suchen, um ihren eigenen, gegenwartsbezogenen Erfahrungen künstlerisch Ausdruck zu verleihen. "Irgendwann habe ich angefangen, die Freiheit zu vermissen, die ich mir als Komponist zeitgenössischer Musik glaubte nehmen sollen zu können", beschreibt er die Situation am Ende seines Studiums. Torvund will die neue Musik nicht einfach als institutionalisierte Selbstverständlichkeit hinnehmen, sondern dem Erlebnishorizont des 21. Jahrhunderts eine eigene musikalische Form verleihen. Er greift dabei ganz unterschiedliche Strategien auf, die von einer vollkommenen Technik-Zugewandtheit bis zu einer vollkommenen Natur-Zugewandtheit reichen können. "Ich habe einfach verschiedene Ansätze ausprobiert. Nicht aus Verzweiflung. Ich habe keine 'denkbar andere Musik' entworfen, sondern meinen Gedanken freien Lauf gelassen."

In den Werken der 2010er-Jahre spielt der Wald und das Musizieren im Wald eine wichtige Rolle, als Environment, als Klangmaterial, aber auch als ästhetische Instanz. Für Neon Forest Space (2010), Forest Construction (2012) und Falling Constellations (2012) nahm Torvund im Wald improvisierende Musiker auf. Die Natur erfüllt dabei eine Vorbild- und eine Lehrerfunktion, ist aber auch eine Projektionsfläche für die Sehnsucht nach Reinheit und Unschuld. Schon in Wolfstudies (2006) waren Aufnahmen heulender Wölfe in ihrer Doppeldeutigkeit als unberührter Tierlaut und abgeschmacktes Klischee zu hören. Torvund benennt mit solchen Werken den Bruch zwischen dem ursprünglichen und unvermittelten Bedürfnis, sich musikalisch zur Welt zu verhalten, und den ausdifferenzierten Techniken der Avantgarde. Auch die Unterrichtssituation, die im Mittelpunkt seines Konzertambientes Bandrom (2003-2009) steht, legt den Widerspruch zwischen der oralen Kultur der Volksmusik und die auf Schriftlichkeit angewiesene Komplexität der Avantgarde offen, indem sowohl norwegische Volksmusik als auch moderne Werke einem Lernprozess unterworfen werden, der auf vor- und nachspielen und nicht auf Noten basiert.

Mit solchen Szenarien verweist Torvund auch auf seine eigene Geschichte als E-Gitarrist in Rock- und Improvisationsgruppen, einen Teil seiner Biografie, den der Komponist, der in Oslo und Berlin studierte, stets hervorhebt – in vom Hardcore inspirierten Stück Power Art (2002) oder dem mit Versatzstücken aus Pop, Barock und Freejazz spieldenden Zyklus Album (2004). Auch schlägt sich Torvunds technische Sozialisation gelegentlich in den Werken nieder, in Stücken mit Overhead-Projektor (A Lecture about ornaments, 2004), in nerv-sägenden elektronischen Zuspielungen (Krull quest, 2004) oder den glamourösen Presets antiquierter Drumcomputer in Album. Auch diese Nähe zu Computerspielen und 8-Bit-Ästhetiken ist eine Öffnung der Avantgarde hin zu anderen Bereichen unseres Lebens, die von der neuen Musik bislang kaum berührt wurden, und denen sich zu widmen Teil der von Torvund gewählten künstlerischen Freiheit ist.

Text: Björn Gottstein
Foto: Stian Andersen


Print


http://oyvindtorvund.com/

Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Labor Sonor: »Das Klatschen der zweiten Hand #4«

Øyvind Torvund & Splittergruppe III, A visit from a Sound Sculpture, Konzert

plastic wave

Constructing Jungle Books (2013 / 2014) UA

Constructing Jungle Books (2013 / 2014)

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK