Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The filmmaker and curator Marie Losier stages unconventional documentary artists’ portraits of heroes, personal friends and idols of the underground scene. Her work is known worldwide at major museums and renowned festivals in movie theatres and galleries. From the “Tate Modern” to “Centre Pompidou,” from the Rotterdam Filmfestival to the “Cinémathèque française”, her productions are regularly shown at important museums and festivals. She was invited to the 2006 “Whitney Biennial” in New York City. Recently, retrospectives of her work were shown at the Berlinale, the “Harvard Film Archive”, “Cornell Cinema” as well as at the film festivals of Seattle, Bafici, and Gijon.

Born in France, in 1972, she lives since seventeen years in New York City. She studied American literature in Paris and finally painting at Hunter College in New York. Since 2000 she is responsible for the film program of the “Alliance Française” in New York. In addition, she organizes the programs of two other film institutions in New York City and serves as professor at several universities.

In her work to date, her portraits have largely included those of avant-garde directors such as Mike and George Kuchar, Guy Maddin, Richard Foreman, Ken Jacobs, and Tony Conrad. And her protagonists praise her work. The performance artist and musician Gennesis Breyer P-Orridge refers to her as a “documentary Fellini.” Guy Maddin calls Marie Losier the most “effervescent and psychologically exact portraitist” working in film today. “No one makes films anything like Marie, Edith Sitwell’s inner Tinkerbell!”

Marie Losier nears the artists she portraits in a playful and dreamlike manner. She avoids classical interview situations. Some of her productions are as bizarre as moving: a woman gives birth to a pair of hands; an animated cartoon figure tries in vain to devour her fist; twenty people climb through a pot filled with 280 pounds of spaghetti. Simultaneously Marie Losier has a conspicuous love of the beginnings of cinema. She often uses a classical 16-mm camera for her works, quotes optical effects of the past to the same extent as she does extravagant visual effects from underground films. The Berlin Institute for Film and Video Art “Arsenal” accompanies and supports Maria Losier’s creations since 2007. A wide selection of her films meanwhile belong to the permanent collection.

In her 2011 The Ballad of Genesis and Lady Jaye Marie Losier captures the unusual love story of Genesis Breyer P-Orridge and his life and art companion Lady Jaye. Through cosmetic surgery they begin to merge into “one and the same person”. Influenced by Brion Gysin’s and William Burroughs’ “Cut Ups”, they intended to dissolve their identity to the advantage of a new and third one. P-Orridge explains that his project has nothing at all to do with gender studies. “The body is only the suitcase in which we are carried about in. Ultimately, androgyny plays a role in thinking and the consciousness.” Marie Losier transports this radicalism in her documentary montages via P-Orridge’s voice over and a wide range of visual material. The filmmaker describes her narration as a forest fire. A rapid and wild patchwork that leads to depicting the theatrical moments and the dynamics in the artist couple’s life on another level. Alongside his boundary-breaking performance art, P-Orridge is primarily known as one of the musical innovators of Acid House and Techno. The premiere of Marie Losier’s first feature film was celebrated at the Berlinale, where it won two prizes – the “Teddy” for best documentary film and the “Caligari Film Prize”. It was shown in theatres in Germany, France, Canada and USA, as well as at an additional 63 festivals and received numerous awards.

In a different way varied, too, is Tony Conrad, whom Marie Losier portrayed in Tony Conrad, DreaMininmalist in 2008. Not only is the American an avant-garde filmmaker but also a video artist, musician, composer, sound artist, professor and writer. He is an innovative colleague of John Cale and Lou Reed. During its first performance, his most famous film, The Flicker, from 1966, led to epileptic seizures in the audience. Marie Lousier presents the multitalented artist as an in-darkness-floating and grimacing creature, hopping on a bed playing a mini-violin.

In Berlin she plans to complete a portrait of the only identical, Russian art twins Masha and Natasha Pechatnikov, whose private life and work are so intertwined they seem like one person. In addition, she is planning a work based on film pioneer Georg Wilhelm Pabst. In collaboration with actress and director Susanne Sachsse, Vaginal Davis, Marc Siegel, and singer Peaches the filmmaker also plans to pay homage to silent film as well as musical films from the 1950s.

Text: Maike Wetzel
English translation: Karl Edward Johnson



Print
2011 Byun, Objet Trouvé (Short Film, 16 mm, 7’) with Byun Chong 2011 The Ballad of Genesis and Lady Jaye (Documentary Film, 16 mm, 72’) 2010 Cet Air La (Kurzfilm, 16 mm, 3’) with April March and Julien Gasc 2009 Slap the Gondola! (Short Film, 16 mm, 15’) with April March, Tony Conrad and Genesis P-Orridge 2008 Tony Conrad, DreaMininmalist (Short Film, 16 mm, 27’)
Events by DAAD
zu Gast im Arsenal

im Rahmen von Topophilia / Topophobia

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Die Filmemacherin und Kuratorin Marie Losier inszeniert eigenwillige dokumentarische Künstlerporträts von Helden, persönlichen Freunden und Idolen der Underground-Szene. Ihre Arbeiten sind weltweit in bedeutenden Museen sowie auf renommierten Festivals, im Kino und in Galerien zu sehen. Von der „Tate Modern“ bis zum „Centre Pompidou“, vom Rotterdam Filmfestival bis zur der „Cinémathèque française“ zeigen alle wichtigen Museen und Festivals regelmäßig ihre Filme. 2006 wurde sie zur „Whitney Biennale“ in New York eingeladen. Jüngst widmeten ihr die Berlinale, das „Harvard Film Archive“, „Cornell Cinema“ sowie die Filmfestivals in Seattle, Bafici und Gijon Retrospektiven.
Marie Losier wurde 1972 in Frankreich geboren, lebt aber seit siebzehn Jahren in New York. Sie studierte zunächst amerikanische Literatur in Paris und anschließend Malerei am Hunter College in New York. Seit 2000 ist sie verantwortlich für das Filmprogramm der „Alliance Française“ in New York. Außerdem gestaltet sie das Programm von zwei weiteren Kinos in New York City und doziert als Künstlerin an mehreren Universitäten.
Vor allem Avantgarde-Regisseure wie Mike und George Kuchar, Guy Maddin, Richard Foreman, Ken Jacobs und Tony Conrad porträtierte Marie Losier in ihren bisherigen Arbeiten. Ihre Protagonisten loben sie überschwänglich. Als „dokumentarischen Fellini“ bezeichnet sie der Perfomancekünstler und Musiker Genesis Breyer P-Orridge. Guy Maddin nennt Marie Losier die derzeit „spritzigste und psychologisch genaueste“ Porträtistin im Filmbereich. „Niemand macht Filme wie Marie, Edith Sitwells innere Tinkerbell!“
Verspielt und auf traumhafte Weise nähert sich Marie Losier den von ihr porträtierten Künstlern. Klassische Interviewsituationen meidet sie. Manche ihrer Inszenierungen sind ebenso bizarr wie anrührend: Eine Frau gebiert ein Paar Hände. Eine Zeichentrickfigur probiert vergeblich ihre Faust zu verschlingen. Zwanzig Leute klettern durch einen Topf mit 280 Pfund Spaghetti. Gleichzeitig ist Marie Losiers Liebe zu den Anfängen des Kinos unübersehbar. Oft verwendet sie eine klassische 16-mm-Kamera für ihre Filme, zitiert frühe optische Tricks genauso wie die visuellen Extravaganzen des Undergroundfilms. Das Berliner Institut für Film und Videokunst „Arsenal“ begleitet und fördert Marie Losiers Schaffen seit 2007. Zwei ihrer Filme entstanden im Auftrag des „Arsenals“. Sämtliche ihrer Filme befinden sich in seinem Verleih.
Die ungewöhnliche Liebesgeschichte von Genesis Breyer P-Orridge und seiner Lebens- und Kunstpartnerin Lady Jaye fängt Marie Losier in The Ballad of Genesis and Lady Jaye (2011) ein. Durch Schönheitsoperationen beginnen die beiden „eins zu werden“. Beeinflusst von Brion Gysins und William Burroughs „Cut Ups“ wollen sie ihre einzelnen Identitäten zugunsten einer neuen, dritten auflösen. „Mein Projekt hat nichts mit Gender-Themen zu tun“, erklärt P-Orridge. „Der Körper ist nur der Koffer, in dem wir umhergetragen werden. Pandrogynie spielt sich ausschließlich im Denken, im Bewusstsein ab.“ Diese Radikalität transportiert Marie Losier in ihrer dokumentarischen Montage von P-Orridges O-Ton und unterschiedlichstem visuellen Material. Als einen Waldbrand beschreibt die Filmemacherin ihre Narration. Ein schnelles und wildes Patchwork, das so die Theatralik und Dynamik im Leben des Künstlerpaars auf einer anderen Ebene abbildet. Neben seiner Grenzen überschreitenden Perfomancekunst ist P-Orridge vor allem als einer der musikalischen Wegbereiter von Acid House und Techno bekannt. Marie Losiers erster Langfilm feierte seine Premiere auf der Berlinale und gewann dort gleich zwei Preise, den „Teddy“ als bester Dokumentarfilm sowie den „Caligari Filmpreis“. Er lief in Deutschland, Frankreich, Kanada und den USA im Kino sowie auf weiteren 63 Festivals und erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen.
Auf andere Weise vielfältig ist auch das Werk von Tony Conrad, den Marie Losier in ihrem Porträt als Tony Conrad, DreaMininmalist (2008) betitelte. Der Amerikaner ist sowohl Avantgarde-Filmemacher, Videokünstler, Musiker, Komponist, Klangkünstler, Dozent und Autor. Er ist ein Weggefährte von John Cale und Lou Reed. Sein berühmtestes Film The Flicker (1966) sorgte bei der ersten Vorführung für epileptische Anfälle im Publikum. Marie Losier zeigt dieses Multitalent etwa als im Schwarz schwebendes, Grimassen schneidendes Gesicht oder beim Hüpfen auf dem Bett, während er eine Mini-Geige streicht.
In Berlin möchte Marie Losier die eineiigen russischen Zwillinge Mascha und Natascha Petschatnikow porträtieren. Ihr Privatleben und ihr Werk sind derart verwoben, dass sie eine Person zu sein scheinen. Außerdem plant Marie Losier ein an den Filmpionier Georg Wilhelm Pabst angelehntes Werk. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Schauspielerin und Regisseurin Susanne Sachsse, Vaginal Davis, Marc Siegel und der Sängerin Peaches will die Filmemacherin sowohl dem Stummfilm als auch Musicalfilmen aus den fünfziger Jahren huldigen.


Text: Maike Wetzel


Print
Filme (Auswahl): 2011 Byun, Objet Trouvé (Kurzfilm, 16 mm, 7’) mit Byun Chong 2011 The Ballad of Genesis and Lady Jaye (Dokumentarfilm, 16 mm, 72’) 2010 Cet Air La (Kurzfilm, 16 mm, 3’) mit April March und Julien Gasc 2009 Slap the Gondola! (Kurzfilm, 16 mm, 15’) mit April March, Tony Conrad und Genesis P-Orridge 2008 Tony Conrad, DreaMininmalist (Kurzfilm, 16 mm, 27’)
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
zu Gast im Arsenal

im Rahmen von Topophilia / Topophobia

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK