Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The director Sandro Aquilar investigates the narrative boundaries of cinema, especially those of the short film genre. He conveys the so-called “shorts generation” of a group of Portuguese filmmakers, which has granted the short film a new sense of authority. Sandro Aguilar likewise influences his homeland’s film scene as a producer, cutter, and video artist. The production firm he founded in 1998, “O Som e a Fúria”, offers with Miguel Gomes and Manoel de Oliveira a forum for many of today’s influential filmmakers in Portugal.

Sandro Aguilar was born in 1974 in Angola and grew up in Portugal. In Lisbon he studied in the Film Academy’s Montage department.

His work appears regularly at the most important international festivals. Recent retrospectives were celebrated in festivals held in Rotterdam, Bafici, and Brooklyn. Sandro Aguilar was nominated twice for the “UIP Prize” for best short film at the European Film Prize celebrations. His work received awards at the Biennale in Venice, Film Festival in Locarno, Bahia, Gijon, Vila do Conde, Indie Lisboa, and several other festivals.

The atmosphere of a specific location offers the point of departure for the majority of Sandro Aguilar’s films. The narration and dialogue are sparse and the imagery mysterious. Reflections can overlap the facial features of his protagonists and often they can only be seen from behind, or are dissolving in a blur. In the case of longer exposures, often no more than a leaf moves, heightened, for example, by the call of a bird. Auguilar’s tableaus are bewitchingly composed. People seek companionship in vain. Aguilar once referred to his theme as the “freezing point of human relationships”. Dense with poetry and melancholia his films level out the linear quality of narrated time.

In his 2010 “Voodoo” a cowardly man meets a disturbed woman, both flight attendants. She laughs when she is expected to resuscitate a dummy. But laughing is not allowed. Although they share the same space the protagonists never have immediate contact with one another. “Nevertheless, they seem connected on a magical level of an unenforceable reality.” (Dieter Wieczorek). For this film Sando Aguilar received the “Restart Award” as best Portuguese short film director.

Also created in 2010 was “Mercúrio” (Grace), shot in only five hours. Here, too, Sandro Aguilar surpasses the known perimeters of parenthesis. At first glance almost nothing happens. A man, a woman, a child. Two cars parked beside on the edge of the city. A no-man’s land on the edge of civilization, with the wilderness slowly seeming to take off. In the end, only memory remains. The film won top prize in Oberhausen. It was selected best short film at the Gijon film festival. At the short film festival “Golden Boll” it was chosen best experimental film. In addition, “Mercúrio” won two nominations at the “Tiger Awards” of the Rotterdam Film Festival.

A longing for lost objects, feelings and sensations connect the characters in Sandro Aguilar’s first feature film, his 2008 “A Zona”, in which a man awaits his father’s death; a pregnant woman survives a car accident but her partner dies; and a child is born. All the characters seem enveloped in a kind of pre-hell. In this evening-length film the director experiments with narrative and visual omissions, and he reaches the limits of the logically comprehensible.

Aguilar’s 2000 film “Sem Movimento” was inspired by reality games. The rules are simple. Four people in a car. The first to leave is the loser. Cigarettes, Polaroids, the claustrophobic atmosphere of a shopping center, and self-imposed self-denial. At the 2000 Venice Film Festival the film received a special mention in the category best short film.

In Berlin Sandro Aguilar is working on both his second feature film and a new a project. With the working title “A Field or Sphere of Action”, he plans to expand his well-tested cinematic concept to a series of films or installation.

Text: Maike Wetzel
English Translation: Karl Edward Johnson

Print
2010 Mercúrio (Short Film, 35 mm, 18’) 2010 Voodoo (Short Film, 35 mm, 30’) 2008 A Zona (Short Film, 35 mm, 99’) 2000 Sem Movimento (Short Film, 35 mm, 17’)
Events by DAAD
zu Gast im Arsenal

zu Gast im Arsenal

Sinais de serenidade por coisas sem sentido, Film

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Die erzählerischen Grenzen des Kinos erkundet der Regisseur Sandro Aguilar insbesondere im Genre des Kurzfilms. Er zählt zur sogenannten „shorts generation“, einer Gruppe portugiesischer Filmschaffender, die dem Kurzfilm eine neue Berechtigung verliehen haben. Sandro Aguilar prägt auch als Produzent, Cutter und Videokünstler die Filmszene seiner Heimat. Die von ihm 1998 gegründete Produktionsfirma „O Som e a Fúria“ bietet mit Miguel Gomes oder Manoel de Oliveira etlichen der heute einflussreichsten Filmemacher Portugals ein Forum.
Sandro Aguilar wurde 1974 in Angola geboren und wuchs in Portugal auf. In Lissabon studierte er in der Abteilung Montage an der Filmhochschule.
Seine Werke laufen regelmäßig auf den wichtigsten internationalen Festivals. Retrospektiven widmeten ihm jüngst die Festivals in Rotterdam, Bafici und Brooklyn. Beim Europäischen Filmpreis wurde Sandro Aguilar gleich zweimal für den „UIP-Preis“ für den besten Kurzfilm nominiert. Bei der Biennale in Venedig, den Filmfestivals in Locarno, Bahia, Gijon, Vila do Conde, IndieLisboa und anderen Festivals wurden sein Schaffen ausgezeichnet.
Die Atmosphäre eines bestimmten Ortes ist für Sandro Aguilar der Ausgangspunkt für die meisten seiner Filme. Die Erzählung und auch die Dialoge darin sind spärlich, die Bilder rätselhaft. Spiegelungen überlagern die Gesichtszüge seiner Protagonisten, oft sind sie nur von hinten zu sehen oder verschwinden in der Unschärfe. In langen Einstellungen bewegt sich manchmal nicht mehr als ein Blatt, darüber zwitschert ein Vogel. Aguilars Tableaus sind berückend schön komponiert. Die Menschen darin sind einsam, Nähe suchen sie vergeblich. Als den „Gefrierpunkt der menschlichen Beziehungen“ hat Sandro Aguilar einmal sein Thema beschrieben. Voll Poesie und Melancholie hebeln seine Filme die Linearität der erzählten Zeit aus.
In „Voodoo“ (2010) trifft ein ängstlicher Mann auf eine verstörte Frau, beide sind Flugbegleiter. Sie lacht, als sie einen Dummy wiederbeleben soll. Das Lachen wird ihr verboten. Obwohl sie den gleichen Raum teilen, begegnen sich die beiden Protagonisten nie unmittelbar. „Trotzdem scheinen sie auf einer magischen, in der Realität uneinklagbaren Ebene miteinander verbunden.“ (Dieter Wieczorek) Für den Film erhielt Sandro Aguilar den „Restart Award“ als bester portugiesischer Kurzfilmregisseur.
In demselben Jahr entstand auch „Mercúrio“ (Gnade, 2010), gefilmt in nur fünf Stunden. Auch hier reizt Sandro Aguilar die Kunst der Parenthese aus. Scheinbar geschieht fast nichts: Ein Mann, eine Frau, ein Kind. Zwei nebeneinander parkende Autos am Rande der Stadt. Ein Niemandsort, an dem die Zivilisation mit der Wildnis zu verschmelzen scheint. Am Ende bleibt nichts als die Erinnerung. Der Film gewann den Hauptpreis in Oberhausen. Das Filmfestival in Gijon wählte ihn zum besten Kurzfilm. Beim Kurzfilmfestival „Golden Boll“ wurde er als bester Experimentalfilm ausgezeichnet. Außerdem erhielt „Mercúrio“ zwei Nominierungen bei den „Tiger Awards“ des Filmfestivals in Rotterdam.
Die Sehnsucht nach verlorenen Objekten, Gefühlen und Empfindungen verbindet die Personen in Sandro Aguilars erstem Langfilm, „A zona“ (2008): Ein Mann wartet auf den Tod seines Vaters. Eine Schwangere überlebt einen Autounfall, ihr Partner stirbt. Ein Baby kommt zur Welt. Alle Charaktere scheinen in einer persönlichen Vorhölle gefangen. Auch in diesem abendfüllenden Kinofilm spielt der Regisseur mit erzählerischen und visuellen Auslassungen, geht er bis an die Grenzen des logisch Nachvollziehbaren.
Reality-Gameshows inspirierten Sandro Aguilar zu seinem im Jahr 2000 entstandenen Film „Sem Movimento“. Die Regeln sind einfach: Vier Leute in einem Auto. Wer zuerst geht, hat verloren. Zigaretten, Polaroids, die klaustrophobische Atmosphäre eines Shoppingcenters und selbstauferlegte Kasteiung. Beim Filmfestival in Venedig erhielt der Film im Jahr 2000 eine besondere Erwähnung in der Kategorie bester Kurzfilm.
In Berlin wird Sandro Aguilar sowohl an seinem zweiten Langfilm arbeiten als auch an einem neuen Projekt. Unter dem Arbeitstitel „A Field or Sphere of Action“ will er sein bewährtes filmisches Konzept weiter ausbauen und in eine Serie von Filmen oder eine Installation münden lassen.



Text: Maike Wetzel


Print
Filme (Auswahl): 2010 Mercúrio (Kurzfilm, 35 mm, 18’) 2010 Voodoo (Kurzfilm, 35 mm, 30’) 2008 A Zona (Spielfilm, 35 mm, 99’) 2000 Sem Movimento (Kurzfilm, 35 mm, 17’)
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
zu Gast im Arsenal

zu Gast im Arsenal

Sinais de serenidade por coisas sem sentido, Film

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK