Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Tadasu Takamine

Tadasu Takamine, who was born in Kagoshima, Japan, in 1968, began as a member of the influential Japanese multimedia-performance group Dumb Type, which has existed since the nineteen-eighties. He has now been active for over a decade as a freelance director and artist, and has devoted himself to a theatre practice that he develops experimentally in workshops in dialogue with local participants. Both in the theatre as well as in artistic projects, he grapples with gnawing social questions provocatively and with dark humor.

This can already be read in the title of his most recent exhibition project “Cool Japan” (2012): with it, he makes reference to Cool Japan, the campaign for marketing Japan that was launched in 2011. In light of the ecological effects of the reactor catastrophe in Fukushima, promoting qualities such as the ‘coolness’ or serenity of the Japanese people illustrates the political efforts to utilize the population within the framework of the image campaign. On the attempt of the government, quasi in the slipstream of the catastrophe, to exert influence on the collective and individual identity, the artist expressed himself as follows in an interview: ‘There are many things that simply do not penetrate our awareness at all – perhaps because we are being cleverly manipulated in a way that prevents us from paying too much attention to these things. We finally now find ourselves in a situation in which we are actually confronted with the experience of these things.’

Takamine also dealt with an effective system of control and cultural influence in his probably best-known work, the playful video “God Bless America” (2002). In a stop-motion animation, one sees the artist and his assistant in a blood red room kneading a huge head of clay in such a way that this head seems to sing the song in the title. What is, however, more interesting than the huge singing head, which is vaguely reminiscent of George W. Bush, is the everyday artist’s life that takes place behind him: food is eaten, television is watched and sleep is had, also with one another. With this, shortly before the Iraq War, the artist created an image for everyday life in the shadow not so much of the attacks of September 11th as of the public image cultivation and demonstrations of power that is justified by American politics as a result of them, and the impossibility of evading from them as an individual.

“Kimura-San” (2004), the artist’s arguably most controversial video work, also deals with the theme/subject of the possibilities for individual self-determination. The video installation circles around a victim of the Morinaga scandal, in which 138 infants died from milk products poisoned with arsenic in the nineteen-fifties, Mr. Kimura, who no longer has any more control over his body and cannot speak. The artist, who was responsible for caring for him for five years, examines the sexual life of Mr. Kimura in his video, and in doing so poses general questions about the sexuality of disabled individuals as well as how they are depicted and addressed. In the video, Takamine also speaks about Kimura’s courage, his powerlessness to do things openly. His video interprets how Kimura deals with his sexuality as a social metaphor for taking on challenges and as a plea for social responsibility.

Print


http://takaminet.com/

Events by DAAD
Japan Syndrome - Berlin Version II, Live-Video und Audio-Performance

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Tadasu Takamine

Tadasu Takamine, geboren 1968 im japanischen Kagoshima, begann als Darsteller bei der seit den 1980er Jahren existierenden, einflussreichen japanischen Multimedia-Performance-Gruppe Dumb Type. Seit über einem Jahrzehnt ist er nun selbstständig als Regisseur und Künstler aktiv, und hat sich einer Theaterpraxis verschrieben, die er in Workshops im Dialog mit lokalen Teilnehmern experimentierend entwickelt. Sowohl im Theater wie auch in künstlerischen Projekten setzt er sich auf provokative Weise und mit düsterem Humor mit bohrenden gesellschaftlichen Fragen auseinander.

Bereits im Titel seines jüngsten Ausstellungsprojekts „Cool Japan“ (2012) wird dies ablesbar: er bezieht sich damit auf die 2011 gelaunchte Marketingkampagne Japans, Cool Japan. Angesichts der ökologischen Auswirkungen der Reaktorkatastrophe in Fukushima, Eigenschaften wie die „Coolness“ oder Gelassenheit der Japaner zu bewerben, verdeutlicht die politischen Bestrebungen der Instrumentalisierung der Bevölkerung im Rahmen der Image-Kampagne. Zu dem Versuch der Regierung, quasi im Windschatten der Katastrophe Einfluss auf die kollektive und individuelle Identität zu nehmen, äußerte sich der Künstler in einem Interview: „Es gibt viele Dinge, die überhaupt nicht in unser Bewusstsein eindringen - vielleicht weil wir geschickt manipuliert werden, auf eine Weise die uns daran hindert, diesen Dingen zu viel Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken. Endlich finden wir uns nun in der Situation, dass wir tatsächlich mit der Erfahrung dieser Dinge konfrontiert werden.“

Auch in seiner wohl bekanntesten Arbeit, dem verspielten Video „God Bless America“ (2002) bearbeitete Takamine ein wirksames System von Kontrolle und kultureller Einflussnahme. In einer Stop-Motion Animation sieht man den Künstler und seine Assistentin in einem blutroten Raum einen riesigen Kopf aus Ton kneten, so, dass dieser das Titellied zu singen scheint. Interessanter aber, als der vage an George W. Bush erinnernde, singende Riesenkopf ist allerdings der Künstleralltag der sich hinter ihm abspielt: in hektischem Zeitraffer wird da gegessen, ferngesehen und geschlafen, auch miteinander. Damit schuf der Künstler kurz vor dem Irakkrieg ein Bild für den Alltag im Schatten weniger der Anschläge des 11. September, als den durch die amerikanische Politik dadurch begründeten öffentlichen Selbstdarstellungen und Machtdemonstrationen, und der Unmöglichkeit sich ihnen als Individuum zu entziehen.

Auch die wohl umstrittenste Videoarbeit des Künstlers, „Kimura-San“ (2004) behandelt das Thema der Möglichkeiten individueller Selbstbestimmung. Die Videoinstallation kreist um ein Opfer des Morinaga Skandals, bei dem in den fünfziger Jahren 138 Säuglinge an mit Arsen vergifteten Milchprodukten starben, Herrn Kimura, der keine Kontrolle mehr über seinen Körper hat, und nicht sprechen kann. Der Künstler übernahm für fünf Jahre dessen Pflege, setzte sich in seinem Video mit dem Sexualleben des Gepflegten auseinander, und wirft dabei allgemeine Fragen zur Sexualität Behinderter, wie auch deren Darstellung und Thematisierung auf. Takamine spricht dabei auch die Courage Kimuras an, seine Machtlosigkeit öffentlich zu machen. Sein Video interpretiert Kimuras Umgang mit seiner Sexualität als eine gesellschaftliche Metapher dafür, Herausforderungen anzunehmen, und als ein Plädoyer für gesellschaftliche Verantwortung.

Text: Andreas Schlaegel




Print


http://takaminet.com/

Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Japan Syndrome - Berlin Version II, Live-Video und Audio-Performance

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK