Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Otobong Nkanga (born in Kano, Nigeria in 1974) creates works based on extensive research in diverse media. Her drawings, installations, photographs, videos and sculptures variously examine ideas around land and the value connected to its resources. She often utilises body and voice in order to articulate her own reactions to existing structures and their implications. She finds inspiration for this in observing social and topographic changes in her surroundings and the influences that arise from these. As a human trace that testifies of ways of living and environmental issues, architecture and landscape act as a sounding board for narration and “the performative”.

In many of her works Nkanga reflects metonymically on the use and cultural value of natural resources, exploring how meaning and function are relative within cultures and revealing different roles and histories for the same products, particularly within the context of the artist’s autobiography and memories.

Nkangas installation-performance "Contained Measures of Shifting States", was staged in November 2012 at The Tanks, Tate Modern, launching the project Across the Board, an experimental and multidisciplinary platform which subsequently travelled to the African cities of Accra, Douala, and Lagos. In her performance, Nkanga invited viewers to engage in a dialogue on the intangibility of identity, memory, or perception, observing how these change when presented via a strategy of specific arrangement and narration.
For her contribution to the exhibition “Objekt Atlas – Feldforschung im Museum” (Object Atlas – Field Research in the Museum), shown in the Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt in 2012, Nkanga spent several weeks in the Weltkulturen Labor doing research on the historical objects (such as weapons, jewellery and currency) found in the collection, coming mainly from Western, Central and Southern Africa. These different metal objects had been used as a currency by previous generations, but have vanished from general perception today. Nkanga’s photographic documentation of these objects served as the basis for posters that she had designed and executed in Lagos. She presented these posters in the museum in Frankfurt along with a selection from the holdings of the collection. Before the backdrop of the fact that posters continue to fulfil the function of communicating everyday knowledge and information in Nigeria, such as, for example, in schools, to the artist, this seems to suggest the subversive idea that posters and museums, as cultural institutions, might represent a comparable currency.By this means, the artist transfers not only the history and significance of the objects into the twenty-first century in an unsentimental manner. Nkanga’s works instead reflect different aspects of merging, of exchange and of the migration of material cultures and cultural contexts.


Print


http://www.otobongnkanga.com/

Events by DAAD
Glimmer, performance

Last Sighting

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Otobong Nkanga (geb. 1974 in Kano, Nigeria).

Otobong Nkangas in verschiedenen Medien realisierte Arbeiten beruhen auf umfangreichen Recherchen: ihre Zeichnungen, Installationen, Fotografien, Videos und Skulpturen untersuchen Vorstellungen von Grund und Boden und dem Wert, der seinen Ressourcen zugemessen wird. Häufig setzt sie Körper und Sprache ein, um ihrer eigenen Reaktion auf gegebene Strukturen und deren Auswirkungen Ausdruck zu verleihen. Nkanga beobachtet soziale und topographische Veränderungen in ihrem Umfeld wie auch die sich daraus ergebenden Folgen. Architektur und Landschaft, die Zeugnis von Lebensweisen und Umweltfragen der Menschen geben, fungieren dabei als Klangkörper für die Narration und „das Performative“.

In vielen ihrer Arbeiten setzt sich Nkanga metonymisch mit dem Gebrauch und dem kulturellen Wert natürlicher Ressourcen auseinander, indem sie untersucht, inwiefern deren Bedeutung und Funktion innerhalb verschiedener Kulturen vergleichbar sind. Sie legt dabei verschiedene Funktionen und Geschichten ein und derselben Dinge dar, vor allem in Bezug auf ihre eigene Biographie und damit verbundenen Erinnerungen.

Nkangas Performance "Contained Measures of Shifting States" wurde im November 2012 in den Tanks der Londoner Tate Modern gezeigt. Mit ihr startete das Projekt Across the Board, eine experimentelle und interdisziplinäre Plattform, die anschließend in den afrikanischen Städten Accra, Douala und Lagos fortgeführt wurde. In dieser Performance lud die Künstlerin das Publikum zu einem Dialog über das nicht Greifbare von Identität, Erinnerung oder Wahrnehmung ein. Dabei ließ sich beobachten, wie diese Faktoren sich verändern, sobald sie in einer spezifischen Anordnung und Erzählung vermittelt werden.
Für ihren Beitrag zur Ausstellung Objekt Atlas – Feldforschung im Museum, die 2012 im Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt gezeigt wurde, war Nkanga zuvor mehrere Wochen im Weltkulturen Labor mit Forschungen zu historischen Objekten (wie Waffen, Schmuck und Zahlungsmitteln vor allem aus West-, Zentral- und Südafrika) aus der Sammlung befasst. Diese unterschiedlichen metallenen Artefakte - die von früheren Generationen noch als Währung benutzt wurden, sind heute aus der allgemeinen Wahrnehmung verschwunden. Nkangas fotografische Dokumentation dieser Artefakte diente als Grundlage für Poster, die sie in Lagos gestaltete und herstellen ließ und im Weltkulturen Museum zusammen mit einer Auswahl aus dem Bestand der Sammlung zeigte. Die Tatsache, dass Poster in Nigeria in der Schule immer noch dazu dienen, Alltagswissen und Informationen zu vermitteln, brachte die Künstlerin auf die subversive Idee, dass Poster und Museen - als kulturelle Institutionen -, eine vergleichbare Währung darstellen. So überträgt Nkanga nicht nur auf unsentimentale Art und Weise die Geschichte und Bedeutung dieser Objekte ins 21. Jahrhundert. Sondern ihre Arbeiten beschäftigen sich darüber hinaus mit unterschiedlichen Aspekten von Vermischung, Austausch und Migration materieller Kulturen und kultureller Kontexte.


Print


http://www.otobongnkanga.com/

Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Glimmer, performance

Last Sighting

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK