Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
AA Bronson

In joint artistic work they would have overcome the limitations of the individual, AA Bronson once explained, and with this meant the artist trio General Idea, with Felix Partz and Jorge Zontal. Patz and Zontal’s tragic death from the immunodeficiency disease AIDS in 1994 led to the end of the group active since 1969, which humorously and innovatively combined a wide range of possible media with conceptual approaches in their sculptures, performances and own magazine. Influenced by the attempts of the American right to ostracise and socially defame homosexuals, General Idea increasing explicitly shifted their own sexuality and the problems concerning AIDS research into the centre of their work, corresponding to the maxim that it is not only the personal but also intimate life that is political.

The artistic work of AA Bronson remains indebted to the ideas that were developed within this context of comprehending identity not as an individual but rather as a collective experience. From his own mourning for his lost artist friends, Bronson developed a practice in which sexuality, pleasure, and deep personal or social traumata intermingle. Shaped by introspection and intimate experiences, and beyond rationally reflected work of remembering or even sentimental glorification, he developed his own very humorous idea of a spiritual life. In Bronson’s case, this also includes collaborative relationships with younger artists, for whom he also acts as a mentor as well as absorbing their input. Bronson institutionalised this interplay of relationships within the framework of his most recent exhibition in Berlin, “Invocation of the Queer Spirits“ (2011), in the Galerie Esther Schipper, and presented it as a ‘school for young shamans’.

The gay spirits that were invoked here were not supposed to grant salvation, but rather to mark a path linking the physically tangible world with the inconceivable world, and in the end address the dissolution of the dichotomy of body and spirit. In the physical act of love he finds an analogy to the performative and sexual aspects of rituals, and parallel to this how the invocation of gay spirits causes this to appear. With the image of spirits as powerless apparitions, the artist makes reference to symbolic, physical or social exclusion, in reference to illness, weakness, but also due to sexual orientation. To this extent, his examination of sexuality cannot be reduced to a metaphor; it rather trades in the summons to celebrate sexual pleasure as a positive and potentially liberating force, and ultimately of social justice.

Print


http://www.aabronson.com/aaindex.html

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
AA Bronson

In der gemeinsamen künstlerischen Arbeit hätten sie die Begrenzungen des Individuums überwunden, erklärte AA Bronson einmal, und meinte damit das Künstlertrio General Idea, mit Felix Partz und Jorge Zontal. Patz und Zontals tragischer Tod an der Immunschwächekrankheit Aids im Jahr 1994 führte zum Ende der seit 1969 aktiven Gruppe, die, in Skulpturen, Performances und einem eigenen Magazin, auf humorvolle und innovative Weise eine Vielzahl von medialen Möglichkeiten mit konzeptuellen Ansätzen verband. Geprägt von den Versuchen der amerikanischen Rechten, Homosexuelle auszugrenzen und gesellschaftlich zu diffamieren, rückten General Idea zunehmend explizit ihre eigene Sexualität und die Problematik der Erforschung von Aids in das Zentrum ihrer Arbeit, entsprechend der Maxime, dass nicht nur das Persönliche, sondern auch das Intimleben politisch ist.

Die künstlerische Arbeit von AA Bronson bleibt den in diesem Kontext entwickelten Ideen verpflichtet, die Identität nicht als individuelle, sondern als gemeinschaftliche Erfahrung aufzufassen. Aus der eigenen Trauerarbeit um die verlorenen Künstlerfreunde entwickelte Bronson eine Praxis, in der sich Sexualität, Vergnügen und tiefgreifende persönliche oder gesellschaftliche Traumata vermischen. Von Introspektion und intimen Erfahrungen geprägt und jenseits rational reflektierender Erinnerungsarbeit oder gar sentimentalen Verklärungen, entwickelt er eine eigene, durchaus humorvolle Vorstellung von einem spirituellem Leben. Dazu gehören bei Bronson auch kollaborative Beziehungen zu jüngeren Künstlern, für die er ebenso als Mentor agiert, als auch deren Anregungen aufgreift. Dieses Beziehungsgeflecht institutionalisierte Bronson im Rahmen seiner letztzen Berliner Ausstellung „Invocation of the Queer Spirits“ (2011) in der Galerie Esther Schipper und stellte es als „Schule für junge Schamanen“ vor.

Die schwulen Geister die hier rituell angerufen wurden, sollten nicht Erlösung gewähren, sondern eher einen Pfad markieren, der die physisch greifbare mit der unfassbaren Welt verbindet, und behandelt letztlich die Auflösung der Dichotomie von Körper und Geist. Im körperlichen Akt der Liebe findet er eine Entsprechung zu performativen und sexuellen Aspekten des Rituellen, parallel dazu wie die Beschwörung der schwulen Geister diese erscheinen lässt. Mit dem Bild der Geister als machtlose Erscheinungen, nimmt der Künstler Bezug auf symbolische, physische oder soziale Ausgrenzung, in Bezug auf Krankheit, Schwäche aber auch aufgrund von sexueller Orientierung. Insofern ist seine Auseinandersetzung mit Sexualität nicht auf die Metapher zu reduzieren, sondern handelt mit dem Aufruf nach sexuellem Vergnügen, als positive und potenziell befreiende Kraft zu feiern, letztlich von sozialer Gerechtigkeit.

Print


http://www.aabronson.com/aaindex.html

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK