Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Born 1972 in Kanazawa (Japan), lives in Tokyo.
Studied (philosophy, aesthetics) at Waseda University, Tokyo. Since 1994 freelance composer/performer, interpreter of experimental music, sound poet, installation artist, curator and critic; over 400 performances worldwide. Instructor at Tama Art University, Tokyo, 2007–2010. Grants and residencies in Dortmund, Vienna, Brussels, New York City, Amsterdam (STEIM), etc.

Adachi is active as a composer/performer in the fields of electronic music, sound poetry, vocal performance, improvisation and instrument building, and also as a director and an installation and video artist. In many of his performances, his self-made electronic musical instruments come into play: for example, small homemade synthesizers in Tupperware containers or his “Infrared Sensor Shirt”, a shirt that remotely controls various musical events generated by the wearer’s gestures. In addition to solo appearances, he often works with other performers, among them in recent years Yasunao Tone (Roulette, New York City, 2010) and Jaap Blonk (STEIM, Amsterdam, 2009). He stages performances of his compositions and his performance concepts for amateur choirs and ensembles in the tradition of sound poetry, after rehearsals in workshops or with his ensemble Adachi Tomomi Royal Chorus.

Adachi’s Berlin project relates to the Japanese avant-garde group Mavo, which was active in Constructivist and Dadaist circles in the 1920s; Tomoyoshi Murayama, the artistic leader of the group, stayed in Berlin in 1922. Adachi will use that group’s pioneering work, especially in the field of Concrete Poetry, as the basis for a series of pieces he will create using voice and electronics. The works will take the form of performances and sound recordings, and Adachi intends to bring in other sound artists to collaborate.

Recordings of Adachi’s works have been released by labels such as Tzadik, Naya Records, Omega Point and Suigyu.


Photo: Mute Souvenir/Kai Bienert

Print
More information:
www.adachitomomi.com

Events by DAAD
Porträtkonzert

Weltklang - Nacht der Poesie

MAVOtek

Telepathic Improvisation Concert by PUTIF – The People's United Telepathic Improvisation Front, Telepathische Vokalperformance

(micro) sketches for the next time around

Realtime Voices

De-composing Smetak

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Geboren 1972 in Kanazawa (Japan), lebt in Tokyo.
Studium (Philosophie, Ästhetik) an der Waseda-Unviversität, Tokyo. Seit 1994 freischaffender Composer/Performer, Interpret experimenteller Musik, Lautdichter, Installationskünstler, Kurator und Kritiker, über 400 Auftritte weltweit. 2007–2010 Lehrtätigkeit an der Tama-Kunsthochschule, Tokyo. Stipendien und Gastaufenthalte u.a. in Dortmund, Wien, Brüssel, New York City und Amsterdam (STEIM).

Adachi betätigt sich als Composer/Perfomer in den Bereichen elektronische Musik, Lautpoesie, Vokalperformance, Improvisation und Instrumentenbau, außerdem als Regisseur und Installations und Videokünstler. Bei vielen seiner Performances kommen seine selbst entworfenen elektronischen Musikinstrumente zum Einsatz, zum Beispiel kleine Eigenbau-Synthesizer in Tupperdosen oder sein „Infrared Sensor Shirt“, ein Hemd, vermittels dessen die Körperbewegungen seines Trägers verschiedene musikalische Ereignisse fernsteuern. Neben Soloauftritten arbeitet er auch häufig mit anderen Performern zusammen, darunter in jüngerer Zeit etwa Yasunao Tone (Roulette, New York City, 2010) oder Jaap Blonk (STEIM, Amsterdam, 2009). Seine in der Tradition der Lautpoesie stehenden Kompositionen und Performancekonzepte für Laienchöre und ensembles bringt er nach Einstudierung in Workshops oder mit seinem Ensemble „Adachi Tomomi Royal Chorus" zur Aufführung.

Adachis Projekt für Berlin bezieht sich auf die japanische Avantgarde-Gruppe „Mavo“, die in den 1920er Jahren im Umkreis von Konstruktivismus und Dadaismus aktiv war, auch in Berlin, wo sich der künstlerische Kopf der Gruppe, Tomoyoshi Murayama, 1922 aufhielt. Vor allem deren Pionierarbeit im Bereich der konkreten Poesie will Adachi zur Grundlage einer Reihe von Stücken machen, die unter Einsatz von Stimme und elektronischen Mitteln in Form von Performances und Schallaufnahmen entstehen sollen. Dabei soll es auch zu Kollaborationen mit anderen Klangkünstlern kommen.

Tonträger mit Adachis Arbeiten erschienen unter anderem unter den Labels Tzadik, Naya Records, Omega Point und Suigyu.


Foto: Mute Souvenir/Kai Bienert

Print
Tomomi Adachi: "Five short and long pieces on the chopping board of Walter Smetak" (2017, UA)
für Violine, Violoncello, Gitarren, Schlagzeug, Stimme, Elektronik, Smetak-Instrumente und selbstgebaute kollektive Instrumente
Mit Tomomi Adachi (Stimme, Elek

Infos unter:
www.adachitomomi.com

Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Porträtkonzert

Weltklang - Nacht der Poesie

MAVOtek

Telepathic Improvisation Concert by PUTIF – The People's United Telepathic Improvisation Front, Telepathische Vokalperformance

(micro) sketches for the next time around

Realtime Voices

De-composing Smetak

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK