Guests Events Scholarship Guest Lectureships News
Publications
Profile
Contact/Imprint
Newsletter Partners + Links
Bouchra Khalili’s videos have an intuitive as well as intellectual appeal. It seems possible to see in them “only” audio documents of illegal immigrants or to completely lose oneself, on a visual level, in hypnotic cityscapes. Yet the existence in the background interests the artist mainly as a philosophical phenomenon and the beginning of a new storytelling style. In this way, Bouchra Khalili, born 1975 in Casablanca, follows the path of literary scholar Edward Said, who, in exile, recognizes immigration and the crossing of borders as experiences which give “us new narrative forms and a different type of storytelling”. In her films, Bouchra Khalili tells individual stories of exile, loss, and rootlessness.

Regarding her own story, she grew up in Morocco and France, studied film at the New Sorbonne University in Paris, and acquired a master’s degree in video art at the École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy. Her films and installations investigate the boundaries of film and the visual arts, but also embrace documentary and experimental filmmaking. Since 2002 she has produced over twenty video works, which deal with the topic of migration in various ways.

Bouchra Khalili, who describes her creative approach as leading the medium of video back to its roots, wants to capture reality in all its heterogeneity. In doing so, she remains free of the need to indulge in romantic, linear narration. In her works, sound and image always travel separate routes, and this disassociation generates a multifaceted, thought-provoking and emotional echo for viewers. On the level of sound, Bouchra Khalili usually has the refugees themselves speak. She attaches great importance to documenting their specific language. The related stories revolve around real and imaginary places. There is the abandoned homeland, the longed-for place of refuge, and the forced stopover. The majority of Khalili’s interviewees fled from civil wars; none of them left willingly. They live underground, illegally, and their existence is defined by temporary solutions and detours.

In the “Mapping Journey” project (ongoing since 2008) selected refugees create an “alternative” map of the Mediterranean region by marking their own zigzagging routes on the surface of the customary geography. No more than the map and the hand of the narrator are visible in the video. Personal experience is challenged by the surface of pure cartography. A young Algerian manages to get from Annaba to Marseille. To reach southern France, however, he has to travel via Sardinia, Naples, Milan, and Paris.

At the same time as the “Mapping Journey” project, Bouchra Khalili worked on the so-called “Straight Stories” about modern nomads – a video project divided into four parts. The first part is about the Strait of Gibraltar. In 2008, the second part was created in Istanbul. Both locations represent much more than a delineating of cultural and territorial borders. Since the 1990s, they have increasingly become waiting rooms for refugees as well. But the chances of obtaining a visa for the West are relatively slim. In the videos of her “Straight Stories” series, Bouchra Khalili’s camera moves in slow motion through cities and landscapes void of all signs of human life. The audio track tells viewers, for example, of Ahmad, who fled Afghanistan, and his fervent attempts to obtain legal status in Istanbul; young Musa, longing to return to the Sudan; and Anya, an Iraqi woman, whose dream of obtaining a visa for Australia becomes a reality after twelve years.

In the video installation “Circle Line” (2007) Khalili suggests the existence of a nomenclature for entry into the United States. Various tracking shots and images of the concrete canyons of New York City multiply on three monitors at once. One audio track is the recording of a naturalization procedure. Here too, the names of different countries are listed without stopping. On the other track, accommodating two monitors, questions meant for Green Card candidates are juxtaposed with excerpts from a conversation with an illegal immigrant.

In “Vue aérienne” (2006) viewers see aerial photographs of an unknown Western metropolis. The topic of discussion, presented in German, is of missed and planned encounters. The clips are taken from Fassbinder’s film “The Third Generation”. In her ten-minute video, Bouchra Khalili examines cinema as utopia and the world as “the will to portray”.

The 30-minute film “The Round Trip” (2005–2006) numbers among the “motionless journeys” in Khalili’s work: an exchange of letters between a man and a woman. Imaginary or real, the letters likewise represent a correspondence between two cities and their destinies. But the man no longer corresponds in the end.

Bouchra Khalili’s films have been shown at festivals worldwide, in galleries and museums, as well as in art collections. They were screened in the House of World Cultures in Berlin, in the Pacific Film Archives in Berkeley (USA), in the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Cinématheque Francaise, at the Rotterdam and the Oberhausen film festivalsl, the Reina Sofia National Museum in Madrid, and in Spain’s Filmoteca Espanola. Her first monograph, entitled “Story Mapping”, was published in the autumn of 2010. Bouchra Khalili co-founded the Cinémathèque de Tanger in Morocco, a non-profit organization dedicated to presenting and fostering Arab and innovative international cinema since 2006.

Text: Maike Wetzel / English translation: Karl Edward Johnson


Print
2010 Mapping Journey # 5–8 (video, 5-11’30) 2009 No Way Out (video, 11’ 30) 2009 Mapping Journey #3 (video, 3’30) 2008 Mapping Journey #1 & 2 (video, 4’30 & 3’) 2008 Straight Stories, Part 2: Musa /Ahmad / Anya (11’ & 9‘& 12’) 2007 Circle Line (video installation, 3 x 6’)
Events by DAAD
Wet Feet and more

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Bouchra Khalilis Videos sprechen sowohl intuitiv wie geistig an. Es ist möglich, in ihnen „nur“ Tondokumente illegaler Einwanderer zu sehen oder sich ganz in hypnotischen Stadtlandschaften auf der Bildebene zu verlieren. Doch die Künstlerin interessiert das Dasein im Untergrund als philosophisches Phänomen und den Beginn eines neuen Erzählens. Die 1975 in Casablanca geborene Bouchra Khalili folgt darin dem Literaturwissenschaftler Edward Said, der im Exil, der Immigration und dem Überschreiten von Grenzen Erfahrungen sieht, die „uns neue narrative Formen und ein anderes Erzählen“ verleihen. Bouchra Khalili erzählt in ihren Filmen individuelle Geschichten vom Exil, von Verlust und Entwurzelung.
Sie selbst wuchs in Marokko und in Frankreich auf, promovierte an der Universität Sorbonne Nouvelle in Paris in Filmwissenschaften und schloss zudem ihr Videokunst-Studium an der École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy mit einem Master ab. Ihre Filme und Installationen bewegen sich an der Grenze von Kino und Bildender Kunst sowie Dokumentarfilm und Experimentalfilm. Seit 2002 hat sie mehr als 20 Videoarbeiten veröffentlicht, die sich auf vielfältige Art und Weise mit dem Thema Migration beschäftigen.
Sie führe das Medium Video zu seinen Wurzeln zurück, beschreibt Bouchra Khalili ihren gestalterischen Ansatz, möchte die Realität in ihrer ganzen Heterogenität festhalten. Dabei sei sie aber frei von dem Bedürfnis nach romantischer, linearer Narration. Ton und Bild gehen bei Bouchra Khalili immer getrennte Wege. Diese Dissoziation erzeugt beim Betrachter ein vielschichtiges gedankliches und emotionales Echo. Auf der Tonebene lässt Bouchra Khalili meist die Flüchtlinge selbst zu Wort kommen. Es ist ihr wichtig, deren spezifische Sprache zu dokumentieren. Die Erzählungen drehen sich um Orte, tatsächliche und imaginäre. Die verlassene Heimat, der ersehnte Zufluchtsort, die erzwungene Zwischenstation. Die meisten von Bouchra Khalilis Interviewpartnern flohen vor Bürgerkriegen, niemand ging freiwillig. Sie leben im Untergrund, illegal. Vorläufigkeit und Umwege bestimmen ihre Existenz.
Im „Mapping Journey“-Projekt (seit 2008) zeichnen Flüchtlinge eine „alternative“ Landkarte des Mittelmeerraums, indem sie auf die Oberfläche der gewöhnlichen Geographie ihre Zickzackkurse einzeichnen. Nichts als die Karte und die Hand des Erzählenden sind in dem Video zu sehen. Das persönliche Erlebnis wird mit der reinen Oberfläche der Kartografie konfrontiert. Ein junger Algerier etwa gelangte von Annaba nach Marseille. Um Südfrankreich zu erreichen, musste er aber via Sardinien, Neapel, Mailand und Paris reisen.
Parallel zum „Mapping Journey“-Projekt arbeitet Bouchra Khalili an den sogenannten „Straight Stories“ über moderne Nomaden. Das Videoprojekt ist in vier Teile gegliedert. Der erste Teil handelt von der Straße von Gibraltar. 2008 entstand in Istanbul der zweite Teil. Beide Orte stellen nicht nur kulturelle und territoriale Grenzen dar. Seit den Neunzigern sind sie auch zunehmend zu reinen Wartezimmern für Flüchtlinge geworden. Die Chancen auf eine Einreise in den Westen sind gering. In den Videos der „Straight Stories“-Serie fährt Bouchra Khalilis Kamera in Zeitlupe durch menschenleere Totalen von Städten und Landschaften. Auf der Tonspur erzählt dazu etwa der aus Afghanistan geflohene Ahmad, wie er versucht, seinen Status in Istanbul zu legalisieren, der junge Musa hofft auf seine Rückkehr in den Sudan, für die Irakerin Anya erfüllt sich nach zwölf Jahren der Traum von einem Visum für Australien.
In der Videoinstallation „Circle Line“ (2007) suggeriert Bouchra Khalili die Existenz einer Nomenklatura für die Einreise in die USA. Auf drei Monitoren multiplizieren sich Kamerafahrten und Bilder der Betonschluchten von New York. Eine Tonspur wurde bei einer Einbürgerungszeremonie aufgezeichnet. Auf ihr werden endlos die Namen verschiedener Länder aufgezählt. Auf den anderen beiden Monitoren werden Fragen für Green-Card-Bewerber und Fragmente aus einer Unterhaltung mit einem illegalen Einwanderer einander gegenübergestellt.
„Vue aérienne“ (2006) zeigt Luftaufnahmen einer unbenannten westlichen Großstadt. Dazu ist in deutscher Sprache von verpassten oder geplanten Begegnungen die Rede. Die Fragmente stammen aus Fassbinders Film „Die dritte Generation“. Bouchra Khalili untersucht in dem zehnminütigen Video Kino als Utopie und die Welt „als den Willen zur Darstellung“.
Der halbstündige Film „The Round Trip“ (2005-2006) gehört zu den „bewegungslosen Reisen“ in Bouchra Khalilis Werk: Ein Briefwechsel zwischen einem Mann und einer Frau. Egal ob imaginär oder real, diese Briefe repräsentieren auch den Austausch zwischen zwei Städten und ihren Schicksalen. Schließlich aber schreibt der Mann nicht mehr.
Bouchra Khalilis Filme werden weltweit auf Festivals, in Galerien, Museen sowie Kunstsammlungen gezeigt. Sie liefen beispielsweise im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin, in den Pacific Film Archives in Berkeley, am Centre Pompidou in Paris, in der Cinématheque Francaise, beim Rotterdamer und dem Oberhausener Filmfestival, im Reina Sofia Nationalmuseum sowie der Filmoteca Espanola. Ihre erste Monografie wurde unter dem Titel „Story Mapping“ im Herbst 2010 veröffentlicht. Bouchra Khalili gehört zu den Begründern der Cinémathèque de Tanger, einer Non-Profit-Organisation, die sich seit 2006 bemüht, arabisches und innovatives internationales Kino vorzustellen und zu fördern.

Text: Maike Wetzel



Print
2010 Mapping Journey # 5-8 (Video, 5-11’30) 2009 No Way Out (Video, 11’ 30) 2009 Mapping Journey #3 (Video, 3’30) 2008 Mapping Journey #1 & 2 (Video, 4’30 & 3’) 2008 Straight Stories Part 2: Musa/Ahmad/Anya (11’ & 9 ‘ & 12’) 2007 Circle Line (Videoinstallation, 3x6’)
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Wet Feet and more

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK