Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
China and Western Europe, film and literature – writer and filmmaker Xiaolu Guo works successfully in two cultures, two languages, and two art genres. The author and director born in 1973 grew up in a fishing village in southern China. Initially she studied at the film school in Peking, and later at the National Film and Television School in London. Since 2002 she divides her time between London and Peking.
Due to censorship practices in China, Xiaolu Guo was unable to produce her films here. Yet during her study period she was named best screenplay writer in 1998. Although she was denied permission by the authorities to film her screenplays, Xiaolu Guo was able to publish her stories in the form of novels. Six of her books have appeared in China. Her first novel was translated and praised internationally: “Village of Stone” (Stadt der Steine, Knaus Publishers in Germany). Since 2007 she writes in English, and her English-language publication “Dictionary for Lovers” (2007), nominated for the Orange Prize, became a bestseller and was translated from English into 23 other languages.
Xiaolu Guo’s novels often serve as source material for her films. Despite any cross-referencing, however, her books and films exist independent of one another without one serving as the other’s vehicle. Repeatedly, the expression “culture shock” is dropped as the supposed leitmotif of her work. And it is true that Guo focuses on her Chinese homeland and migrating from East to West. But the director and author no longer believes in clearly defined cultural identities and has no interest in showing an “exotic” China. Instead, she searches for “something larger, wilder” after having overcome cultural boundaries, and much of her material testifies to her own biography.
In Xiaolu Guo’s feature film “She, A Chinese” the stages of young Mei’s life are practically identical with those of the director. To begin with, Mei’s adventurous journey leads her from rural China to a large city, and later to London. Remaining practically speechless but with an unshakable will to survive, Mei endures one hopeless situation after the other. Told directly and at a fast pace, Guo relates a modern tale of sexual and economic exploitation. In the background, the rock-like soundtrack functions as a thrilling, contrapuntal dimension to the main character’s reticence. Time and again Guo ironically interrupts the narration, using, for example, comical subheadings. Nevertheless, her solidarity with her stricken characters remains unbroken. The film’s title references Godard’s film “The Chinese” (1967) and functions as a serious homage to Godard, his anti-narrative narrative style, and his ironic turning away from his glorification of Maoism at that time. Among other honours, Xiaolu Guo’s film won top prize at the 2009 Locarno International Film Festival, the Golden Leopard. It enjoyed movie theatre screenings in seven European countries and was shown worldwide at over fifty festivals.
Produced at the same time as this film, almost by coincidence, was the documentary “Once Upon a Time a Proletarian” (2009). In the glaring spotlights for the film production, Xiaolu Guo was overcome with the need to document the curious farmers who stood watching on the sidelines of the set. Ultimately, this evolved to a kind of cinematic archive focused on post-Marxist China. At the beginning of the film’s twelve chapters, children read unusual stories out loud or simply look at the camera. Their gazes connect the farmers’ stories of never-ending hard times, of a newly awakened greed to own property, and the desire for social equality. The film was premiered at the Venice Film Festival. It won first prize in Geneva, and was shown in movie theatres worldwide.
In “We Went to Wonderland” (2008) as well, Xiaolu Guo turns her attention to a journey from China to Europe. This time the travellers are her own parents, visiting London for the first time. Her father, suffering from cancer of the throat, has to communicate with the help of notes: “The flowers on Karl Marx’s grave died a long time ago.” The parents wander about this comical world strange to and estranged by Europe. At the Granada International Film Festival Cines del Sur the film won the jury’s Special Mention prize, and was later shown in the framework of the 2008 “New Directors/New Films” exhibition in the Museum of Modern Art in New York City.
“How Is Your Fish Today?” (2004) circulates under the genre description of docu-fiction. Yet the film is an even greater hybrid and difficult to classify. At once poetic and essayistic, it tells of the imaginary journey of a screenplay writer from Peking. It follows its protagonist through the entire country and finally leads to encountering a mythical location every Chinese citizen knows from their schoolbooks: Mo He, a village between China and Russia, where the Northern Lights are visible. “How Is Your Fish Today?” was awarded first prize at the Women’s Film Festival in Creteil/France. It was screened at the Sundance Festival as well, and honoured at festivals in Rotterdam, Pesaro, and Fribourg.
In the documentary film “Concrete Revolution” (2004), Xiaolu Guo presents the downside of social change in China. It shows not only Peking’s asphalt jungle, but human forsakenness as well. Despite massive restrictions enforced by the Chinese authorities, Guo conducted a unique series of interviews. Guo’s film was awarded top prize at the human rights festival in Paris, and the jury prize in Seoul.
Guo refers to the short film “Far and Near” (2003) as a poetic documentation. It tells the story of a young Chinese writer recalling her childhood in China while hiking through the mountains of Wales. The London Institute of Contemporary Art awarded “Far and Near” the Beck’s Future Prize.
Xiaolu Guo’s current film, “UFO in Her Eyes” (2011), was produced by Faith Akin and based on her novel of the same name. The book and film convey the sarcastic portrait of a Chinese village community which undergoes radical changes after having allegedly cited a UFO. The allegorical film not only refers to the transition in rural China, but also to social change around the world.

Text: Maike Wetzel / English translation: Karl Edward Johnson


Print
2011 UFO in Her Eyes (feature film, 35 mm/HD, 110‘) 2009 She, A Chinese (feature film, 35 mm, 99 ‘) 2009 Once upon a Time a Proletarian (docu-fiction, HD/video, 75’) 2008 We Went to Wonderland (documentary film, video, balck-and-white, 74‘) 2004 The Concrete Revolution (documentary film, DigiBeta, 62’) 2003 Far and Near (docu-fiction, DigiBeta, 22 ‘)

http://www.guoxiaolu.com/

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
China und Westeuropa, Film und Literatur – die Schriftstellerin und Filmemacherin Xiaolu Guo bewegt sich erfolgreich in zwei Kulturen, zwei Sprachen sowie in zwei Kunstgattungen. Ihre Jugend verbrachte die 1973 geborene Autorin und Regisseurin in einem Fischerdorf im Süden Chinas. Sie studierte zunächst an der Filmhochschule in Peking, später an der National Film and TV School in London. Seit 2002 teilt sie ihre Zeit zwischen London und Peking auf.
Aufgrund der Zensur konnte Xiaolu Guo in China keinen Film realisieren, wurde aber schon während ihres Studiums 1998 als Chinas beste Drehbuchautorin ausgezeichnet. Die Behörden gestatteten ihr zwar keine Verfilmung ihrer Drehbücher, doch als Romane konnte Xiaolu Guo ihre Geschichten publizieren. Sechs ihrer Bücher erschienen bereits in China. Übersetzt und international ausgezeichnet wurde schon ihr Erstling: Stadt der Steine (Knaus Verlag). Seit 2007 schreibt sie auf Englisch. Ihr für den Orange Prize nominiertes „Kleines Wörterbuch für Liebende“ (2007) wurde ein Bestseller. Der Roman wurde vom Englischen in 23 weitere Sprachen übersetzt.
Xiaolu Guos Romane dienen ihr weiterhin oft als Vorlage für ihre Filme. Trotz der Querverbindungen funktionieren ihre Bücher und Filme aber unabhängig voneinander und sind nicht Vehikel des jeweils anderen. Immer wieder fällt das Wort „Kulturschock“ als angebliches Leitmotiv ihres Werks. Richtig ist, dass Xiaolu Guo sich mit ihrer chinesischen Heimat und mit der Wanderbewegung von Ost nach West beschäftigt. Doch die Regisseurin und Autorin glaubt nicht mehr an klar begrenzte kulturelle Identitäten. So will sie nicht das „exotische“ China zeigen, sondern ist auf der Suche nach „etwas Größerem, Wilderem“, nach der Überwindung kultureller Grenzen. Viele ihrer Stoffe zeugen dabei von ihrer eigenen Biografie.
So sind die Stationen der jungen Mei in Xiaolu Guos Spielfilmdebüt „She, A Chinese“ identisch mit dem Lebenslauf der Regisseurin. Meis abenteuerliche Reise führt sie vom ländlichen China zunächst in die Großstadt und später nach London. Nahezu wortlos, aber mit unbeirrbaren Überlebenswillen gerät Mei von einer aussichtslosen Lage in die nächste. Temporeich und direkt erzählt Guo eine moderne Geschichte sexueller und ökonomischer Ausbeutung. Mitreißend und kontrapunktisch zur verschlossenen Hauptfigur funktioniert dabei der rockige Soundtrack. Immer wieder bricht Guo das Erzählte ironisch, wie beispielsweise mit den comichaften Zwischentiteln. Dennoch verliert sie nie die Solidarität mit ihren gebeutelten Figuren. Der Filmtitel lehnt sich an Godards Film „Die Chinesin“ (1967) an – auch das eine sowohl ernsthafte Hommage an Godard und seine anti-narrative Erzählweise wie auch ironische Distanzierung von seiner damaligen Verklärung des Maoismus. Xiaolu Guos Film erhielt unter anderem beim Festival in Locarno 2009 den Hauptpreis, den Goldenen Leoparden. Er lief in sieben europäischen Ländern im Kino und wurde weltweit auf über fünfzig Festivals gezeigt.
Parallel zu diesem Film entstand, beinahe zufällig, die Dokumentation „Once upon a Time a Proletarian“ (2009). Im grellen Licht der Scheinwerfer für den Spielfilm überkam Xiaolu Guo das Bedürfnis, die neugierigen und staunenden Bauern am Rand der Dreharbeiten zu filmen. Am Ende wurde daraus eine Art filmisches Archiv über das post-marxistische China. Am Anfang der zwölf Kapitel lesen Kinder eigenartige Geschichten vor oder schauen einfach in die Kamera. Ihr Blick verbindet die Geschichten der Bauern, die sowohl von ihren ewigen Mühen als auch von der neu erwachten Gier nach Besitz und von sozialer Gleichgültigkeit erzählen. Der Film feierte seine Premiere beim Filmfestival von Venedig, erhielt den Hauptpreis in Genf und wurde in Kinos weltweit gezeigt.
Auch in „We Went to Wonderland“ (2008) beschäftigt Xiaolu Guo sich mit einer Reise von Chinesen nach Europa. Diesmal sind es ihre eigenen Eltern, die zum ersten Mal nach London kommen. Ihr an Kehlkopfkrebs erkrankter Vater kommuniziert mit Hilfe von Notizen: „Die Blumen auf Karl Marx’ Grab sind schon lange tot.“ Fremd in und befremdet von Europa, so wandern die Eltern durch diese komische Welt. Der Film erhielt beim Cinesdelsur Filmfestival in Granada den Spezialpreis der Jury und wurde im Rahmen der „New Directors/New Films“-Ausstellung 2008 im MoMa in New York gezeigt.
„How Is Your Fish Today?“ (2004) kursiert unter der Genrebezeichnung Doku-Fiction. Doch der Film ist ein noch größerer Hybrid und schwer zu klassifizieren. Poetisch und essayistisch erzählt der Film die imaginäre Reise eines Pekinger Drehbuchautoren. Er folgt seiner Hauptfigur durch das ganze Land und begegnet ihr schließlich an einem mythischen Ort, den jeder Chinese aus dem Schulbuch kennt: Mo He, ein Dorf zwischen China und Russland, in dem das Polarlicht leuchtet. Beim Internationalen Frauenfilmfestival in Creteil erhielt „How Is Your Fish Today?“ den Hauptpreis. Der Film lief auch beim Sundance Festival und wurde bei den Festivals in Rotterdam, Pesaro und Fribourg ausgezeichnet.
Die Kehrseite des gesellschaftlichen Wandels in China zeigt Guo in dem Dokumentarfilm „Concrete Revolution“ (2004). Nicht nur der Pekinger Asphaltdschungel wächst darin, sondern auch die Verlorenheit der Menschen. Trotz massiver Restriktionen der chinesischen Behörden gelangen Guo außergewöhnliche Interviews. Beim Pariser Menschenrechtsfestival erhielt Guo für den Film den Hauptpreis sowie in Seoul den Preis der Jury.
Den Kurzfilm „Far and Near“ (2003) bezeichnet Guo als eine poetische Dokumentation. Sie verkörpert darin eine junge chinesische Autorin, die sich bei einer Wanderung durch die walisischen Berge an ihre Jugend in China erinnert. Das Londoner Institute of Contemporary Art verlieh “Far and Near” den Beck’s Future Prize.
Xiaolu Guos aktueller Film „Ein Ufo, dachte sie“ (2011) wurde von Fatih Akin produziert und basiert auf ihrem gleichnamigen Roman. Buch und Film zeichnen das satirische Porträt einer chinesischen Dorfgemeinschaft, die sich nach einer vermeintlichen Ufosichtung radikal verändert. Gleichnishaft erzählt der Film dabei nicht nur vom Wandel im ländlichen China, sondern in der ganzen Welt.

Text: Maike Wetzel

Print
2011 Ein Ufo , dachte sie (Spielfilm, 35 mm/HD, 110‘) 2009 She, a Chinese (Spielfilm, 35 mm, 99 ‘) 2009 Once upon a Time a Proletarian (Doku-Fiction, HD/Video, 75’) 2008 We Went to Wonderland (Dokumentarfilm, Video, schwarz-weiß, 74‘) 2004 The Concrete Revolution (Dokumentarfilm, DigiBeta, 62’) 2003 Far and Near (Doku-Fiction, DigiBeta, 22 ‘)

http://www.guoxiaolu.com/

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK