Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Alina Rudnizkaja belongs to the so-called ninth generation of Russian documentary filmmakers, a film history classification which begins with Sergei Eisenstein. The Swiss film scholars Reto Bühler and Jörg Hüssy believe that the common trait of this newest generation of Russian documentary filmmaker is “the ability to also allow the great questions of human existence to shine out from behind precise everyday observation.”

Alina Rudnizkaja’s films focus on documenting daily life in the New Russia. They show a society undergoing radical change. Her narrative structure is rooted in the tradition of classic Soviet documentary films on the one hand, but expands this to a level of intimacy unknown until now. Her camera positions itself close to the protagonists and appears to be such an integral part of what is being portrayed that many viewers doubt the authenticity of the filmed moment. “Many people ask me if my films include any staging. But no, there isn’t. It’s all documentary.” (Alina Rudnizkaja)

Alina Rudnizkaja’s thirteen documentary films to date have earned over thirty prizes and were screened worldwide at important festivals such as the International Film Festival Rotterdam, the London Film Festival, Transmediale in Berlin, and the Silverdocs Festival in the United States. In 2005, with Civil Status, Alina Rudnizkaja enjoyed great international success for the first time. The film won fourteen festival prizes. Among other honors, it was awarded first prize at the short-film festival Oberhausener Kurzfilmtage and received the ecumenical jury’s Special Mention Award. In Stuttgart and at the Interfilm Berlin Festival, the film was selected Best Documentary Film. Her first films, Letter and Communal Residence, had already made the filmmaker known beyond Russia’s borders and received multiple awards. In Germany, Amazons (2003) was shown at the Werkleitz Biennale in Halle, the Documentary Film Festival in Kassel, and the international short-film festival in Oberhausen. In 2004, her portrait of the band TATU was awarded the “LAVR” as Best Russian Documentary Film. Her feature film debut, currently in post-production, is entitled Blind Movie.

The filmmaker born in 1976 grew up north of the Artic Circle in the Russian harbor town of Murmansk. She came to St. Petersburg to study engineering at the University of Aerospace Technology. After concluding her studies, she enrolled at the University for Culture and Arts in the same city and studied scriptwriting and directing. Her successful student films made her first television network commissions possible: Driving Mad and Communal Residence, two short films for the TV series Petersburg 2003. Since then, she works for the time-honored St. Petersburg Documentary Film Studio, where film legends such as Alexander Sokurov and Pavel Kogan have worked. Founded in 1918, this studio is one of Russia’s oldest state-run film production facilities, and even today a large number of the country’s documentary films are produced here. Alina Rudnizkaja lives and works in St. Petersburg.
In Vixen Academy (2008), the filmmaker creates the portrait of a course for young women determined to achieve more love and power by learning how to effectively apply their charm. Their efforts seem absurd and tragicomic at first. They dance in their undergarments, study lascivious eating habits practiced on bananas, and take turns throwing their arms around the course instructor’s neck. But then, behind their bodily contortions, the social and personal reasons for their efforts shine through. In Civil Status (2005) as well, Rudnizkaja observes everyday errors and entanglements, but this time in a registry office. The all-female personnel ends up altering the feelings of engaged and just-divorced couples, and of people lost in the bureaucratic machinery. Besame Mucho (2006) describes the rehearsals of an all-female choir in rural Tikhvin, preceding a visit from a group of Italian diplomats. In Amazons (2003), Rudnizkaja focuses on a group of young, urban amazons who keep horses in midtown St. Petersburg and accept no men into their ranks.
Rudnizkaja’s documentary films are usually between twenty and thirty minutes long. Since financing films of this format is becoming increasingly difficult, during her stay in Berlin the filmmaker intends to concentrate on the material for a longer documentary. The True Blood project will be co-produced by a Lithuanian firm.



Print
Films (Selection): 2008 Blind Movie (feature film, 35mm/HD, 90’) 2008 Vixen Academy (documentary film, 35 mm, 29’) 2006 Besame Mucho (documentary film, 35 mm, 26’) 2005 Civil Status (documentary film, 35 mm, 30’)
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Alina Rudnizkaja zählt zur sogenannten neunten Generation der russischen Dokumentarfilmer. Eine filmhistorische Einordnung, die mit Sergei Eisenstein beginnt. „Die Fähigkeit hinter der präzisen Alltagsbeobachtung auch die großen Fragen des menschlichen Daseins aufscheinen zu lassen“ vermuten die Schweizer Filmwissenschaftler Reto Bühler und Jörg Hüssy als verbindendes Element dieser jüngsten Generation russischer Dokumentarfilmer.

Alina Rudnizkajas Filme widmen sich dem Alltag im Neuen Russland. Sie zeigen eine Gesellschaft im Umbruch. Ihre Erzählweise steht einerseits in der Tradition des klassischen sowjetischen Dokumentarfilms, erweitert diese aber um eine bisher unbekannte Intimität. Ihre Kamera kommt den Protagonisten sehr nah. Sie scheint derart selbstverständlicher Bestandteil des Dargestellten zu sein, dass viele Betrachter an der Authentizität des Gefilmten zweifeln. „Manche Leute fragen mich, ob es in meinen Filmen Inszenierungen gibt. Aber nein – es ist alles dokumentarisch.“ (Alina Rudnizkaja)

Insgesamt über dreißig Preise haben Alina Rudnizkajas 13 bisherige Dokumentarfilme errungen. Weltweit liefen sie auf wichtigen Festivals wie dem Internationalen Film Festival Rotterdam, dem London Film Festival, der Transmediale in Berlin und bei Silverdocs in den USA. 2005 gelang Alina Rudnizkaja mit Civil Status der erste größere internationale Erfolg. Der Film erhielt 14 Preise bei Festivals. Er wurde unter anderem bei den Oberhausener Kurzfilmtagen mit dem Hauptpreis ausgezeichnet und erhielt zudem die besondere Erwähnung der ökumenischen Jury. Auch in Stuttgart und bei Interfilm Berlin wurde der Film zum besten Dokumentarfilm erklärt. Doch bereits ihr ersten Filme Letter und Communal Residence machten die Filmemacherin über die russischen Grenzen hinaus bekannt und wurden vielfach ausgezeichnet. Amazons (2003) war bei der Werkleitz-Biennale in Halle, beim Kassler Dokumentarfilmfestival sowie den Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen in Oberhausen zu sehen. 2004 wurde ihr Porträt der Band TATU mit dem „LAVR“ als bester russischer Dokumentarfilm prämiert. Blind movie ist ihr Spielfilmdebüt betitelt. Derzeit befindet sich der Film in der Postproduktion.

Aufgewachsen ist die 1976 geborene Filmemacherin nördlich des Polarkreises in der Hafenstadt Murmansk, Russland. Für ein Ingenieursstudium an der Hochschule für Raumfahrt kam sie 1994 nach Sankt Petersburg. Anschließend studierte sie in derselben Stadt Regie und Drehbuchschreiben an der Universität für Kultur und Künste. Ihre erfolgreichen Studentenfilme ermöglichten ihr erste Fernsehaufträge: Für die TV-Serie Petersburg 2003 drehte sie zwei kurze Filme, Driving Mad und Communal Residence. Seit ihrem Studienabschluss arbeitet sie für das altehrwürdige St. Petersburg Documentary Film Studio, an dem auch Legenden des sowjetischen Dokumentarfilms wie Alexander Sokurov oder Pavel Kogan tätig waren. Das 1918 gegründete Studio ist die älteste staatliche Filmproduktion Russlands und bis heute entsteht hier ein Großteil aller Dokumentarfilme. Alina Rudnizkaja lebt und arbeitet in St. Petersburg.

In Vixen Academy (2008) porträtiert die Filmemacherin einen Kurs für junge Frauen, die mit dem gezielten Einsatz ihrer Reize mehr Liebe und Macht erringen wollen. Absurd und tragikkomisch wirken ihre Bemühungen. Sie tanzen in Unterwäsche, üben das laszive Essen einer Banane oder werfen sich dem Kursleiter probeweise an den Hals. Im Hintergrund ihrer Verrenkungen aber scheinen die gesellschaftlichen und persönlichen Gründe dafür auf. Auch in Civil Status (2005) beobachtet Rudnizkaja alltägliche Irrungen und Wirrungen, diesmal auf einem Standesamt. Das rein weibliche Personal verwandelt die Gefühle von Brautpaaren, Frischgeschiedenen und Hinterbliebenen in bürokratische Vorgänge. Bessame Mucho (2006) beschreibt die Proben eines Frauenchors im ländlichen Tichwin vor dem Besuch italienischer Diplomaten. In Amazons (2003) widmete Rudnizkaja sich einer Gruppe junger Stadtamazonen, die mitten in St. Petersburg Pferde halten und keine Männer in ihren Reihen akzeptieren.

Rudnizkajas Dokumentarfilme sind meist zwischen 20 und 30 Minuten lang. Gerade weil die Finanzierung dieses Formats in Russland zunehmend schwierig werde, möchte die Filmemacherin sich in Berlin auf die Konzeption eines längeren Dokumentarfilmstoffes konzentrieren. Das Projekt True Blood wird in Ko-Produktion mit einer litauischen Firma realisiert werden.



Print
Filme (Auswahl): 2008 Blind movie (Spielfilm, 35mm/HD, 90’) 2008 Vixen Academy (Dokumentarfilm, 35 mm, 29’) 2006 Bessame mucho (Dokumentarfilm, 35 mm, 26’) 2005 Civil Status (Dokumentarfilm, 35 mm, 30’)
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK