Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
In 2009, when the national broadcasting station CBC elected him one of Canada’s ten best, living English-language poets, Ken Babstock was not yet forty and had produced only three collections of poetry, which were small but rich in content. Born in 1970 in Newfoundland, the pastor’s son grew up in the Ottawa Valley. In his youth, he occupied himself with poetry in order to distance himself from the church’s language, which he found fraudulent. His interest in philosophy led to enrolling at the Concordia University of Montreal, but then he stopped studying. For twelve years, he took physically strenuous jobs in Ireland and Canada, working in forests, factories, and on building sites. From these experiences he gleaned the invaluable inspiration for writing many poems that would later appear in literary magazines and anthologies, soon to secure his first literary awards. In 1997 he won a coveted Gold at the Canadian National Magazine Awards.

His first collection of poems, with the challengingly ambiguous title Mean (signifying not only nasty, stingy, vile, and cool, but also a resource and, in fact, to mean), was published in 1999 by the renowned House of Anansi Press in Toronto – until today Ken Babstock’s family publisher, where he meanwhile works as a poetry editor. In this collection, Babstock explores the primordially wild landscape of his youth to the same degree as he does chasms of human nature. He contrasts the unspoiled idyll with destruction-charged forms extracted from civilization, whether motorcycles or prisons, and reveals the violence lurking just below the surface of people and nature. Instead of indulging in romantic glorification, the poet directs an unadorned and realistic gaze at worlds both urban and rural; he describes hockey fouls and child abuse, but also tells of intimate experiences like loneliness and love with a breathtaking intensity. In the act of doing so, his language is always starkly compressed, whether dealing with spectacular or gentler topics. For this staggering debut, he was honored with the Milton Acorn Award and the 2000 Atlantic Poetry Prize.

In 2001, when Ken Babstock presented his second collection of poems, Days into Flatspin, he confirmed his reputation as one of the most promising talents of his generation. Characterized by their masterly style, surprisingly metaphorical qualities and accomplished verbal art, these poems captivate through a wealth of forms and topics. A game of Frisbee evolves to a sonnet, the sight of a cow triggers reflections on becoming and ceasing to be, and a flat tire brings to mind the Surrealist watch by Dalí. One poem references The Raft of the Medusa by Géricault: Babstock – the breadth of his raw embracing of nature considered – is at home in a variety of cultures. He repeatedly builds a bridge connecting the New World to the Old, and reacts to works by other artists and poets such as Giacometti, Thomas Hardy, and Richard Hugo.

Airstream Land Yacht, the designation for a camper trailer and uniting three elements – air, earth, and water – is the title of the third collection of poems, which appeared in 2006 and made Ken Babstock well known beyond the borders of the English-speaking world. Poems from this collection were translated into Dutch, French, Serbo-Croatian, and Latvian. In conjunction with the “VERSschmuggel” translation workshop, Lutz Seiler, one of the most important, contemporary poets in these parts, translated a selection of the poems into German on the occasion of Babstock’s invitation to the Berlin Literature Workshop while participating in the 2007 Poetry Festival. Included among the poems selected for translation was “The World’s Hub,” Babstock’s freely adapted version of a poem by Pier Paolo Pasolini, which, given the German title “Die Nabe der Welt,” splendidly conveys the Canadian poet’s verbal art: “…Everyone drove, to all points within the limits of nowhere / the rest incarcerated on public transit: packed in the high-wattage strip light / sat the poor, the mad, the adolescent and license-suspended, the daylight drunk / and Malton’s newly arrived...” Babstock returned the poetic favor by translating a selection of Lutz Seiler’s poems into English, signaling a highly productive exchange to be continued in the near future.

In Canada, critics were so ecstatic over this third collection of poems that Babstock’s name was mentioned alongside W.H. Auden. In 2007, he was nominated for the Griffin Poerty Prize, the world’s most highly remunerated literary prize. Among his many qualities, the jury, which included Charles Simic, justified its choice by citing Ken Babstock’s vast artistic range: “…here we find a poet who can do almost anything, both formally and in his exploration of such subject matter as romantic love, landscape, the body, the city, physical pain, and a joyful awareness of the sensory details of a world full of marvels and riddles…Babstock can be terse, darkly funny, tender, elegiac, wise, mysterious, but he is always fresh and always honest…” The poet who in his youth had already searched for the poetry of the true word can be especially pleased with this evaluation.

At the beginning of his reading at the Griffin Poetry Prize ceremony, Babstock stated that he commits himself to serving as an editor and professor for the mediation of poetry, and that he would go postal were he asked one more time by the popular media if poetry is dead. His diagnosis is that poetry is alive and well – something he proves from anew with every verse. In the spring of 2011, his eagerly awaited fourth collection of poems, Methodis Hatchet, will appear courtesy of the publishers House of Anansi, while he works on newer poems, which address questions of physicality, the philosophy of time, and other topics. Most recently, he feels enticed by prose, so that perhaps one day we can read a novel by this gifted poet.




Print
Publications translated into German VERSschmuggel /reVERSible: Canadian Poetry / Poésie du Québec. Edited by Thomas Wohlfahrt. Authors: Ken Babstock, Claude Beausoleil, Nico Bleutge, and others. Published by Verlag Das Wunderhorn, Heidelberg, 2008 Lyrikline (visit http://lyrikline.org): Compatibilist and The World’s Hub. Translated into German by Lutz Seiler.
Events by DAAD
Weltklang - Nacht der Poesie

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Als er 2009 vom Nationalsender CBC zu einem der zehn besten lebenden englischsprachigen Dichter Kanadas gekürt wurde, war Ken Babstock keine vierzig Jahre alt und hatte erst drei schmale, aber gehaltvolle Bände vorgelegt. 1970 in Neufundland geboren, wuchs der Sohn eines Pfarrers im Ottawa-Tal auf und befasste sich schon als Jugendlicher mit Poesie, in Abkehr von der Kirchensprache, die er als verlogen empfand. Sein Interesse an Philosophie führte ihn zur Concordia University von Montreal, doch dann brach er das Studium ab und verrichtete zwölf Jahre lang körperliche Schwerstarbeit in Irland und Kanada, in Wäldern, Fabriken und auf dem Bau. Aus diesen Erfahrungen schöpfte er Inspiration für viele Gedichte, die zunächst in Literaturzeitschriften und Anthologien erschienen und ihm bald die ersten Literaturpreise eintrugen. So gewann er 1997 Gold bei den Canadian National Magazine Awards.
1999 erschien bei der renommierten House of Anansi Press in Toronto – bis heute Ken Babstocks Hausverlag, in dem er inzwischen auch als Lyriklektor arbeitet – sein erster Gedichtband, unter dem herausfordernd-vieldeutigen Titel Mean (was unter anderem fies, geizig, niederträchtig oder klasse heißen kann, aber auch Mittel oder tatsächlich: bedeuten). Darin erkundet Babstock die ursprünglich-wilden Landschaften seiner Jugend genauso wie die Abgründe der menschlichen Natur, kontrastiert die unberührte Idylle mit gewissen zerstörerischen Erscheinungsformen von Zivilisation, seien es Motorräder oder Gefängnisse, bringt die Gewalt zum Vorschein, die bei Mensch und Natur unter der Oberfläche lauert. Statt in romantischer Verklärung zu schwelgen, richtet der Dichter einen schonungslos realistischen Blick auf urbane und rurale Welten, beschreibt Hockey-Fouls oder Kindesmissbrauch, erzählt aber auch in atemberaubender Eindringlichkeit von so intimen Erfahrungen wie die von Einsamkeit oder Liebe. Seine Sprache ist dabei stets stark verdichtet, ob es sich um spektakuläre oder leise Themen handelt. Für dieses wuchtige Debüt wurde er mit dem Milton Acorn Award und 2000 mit dem Atlantic Poetry Prize geehrt.
2001 legte Ken Babstock den zweiten Band vor, Days into Flatspin, der seinen Ruf als eines der vielversprechendsten Talente seiner Generation festigte. Stilistische Meisterschaft, überraschende Metaphorik und vollendete Klangkunst zeichnen die Gedichte aus, die durch eine Fülle von Formen und Themen bestechen. Ein Frisbee-Spiel wird zum Sonett, der Anblick einer Kuh löst eine Reflexion über Werden und Vergehen aus, ein platter Reifen erinnert an die surrealen Uhren von Dalí. Ein anderes Gedicht bezieht sich auf Das Floß der Medusa von Géricault: Babstock ist – bei aller rauen Naturverbundenheit ? in vielen Kulturen heimisch und schlägt immer wieder eine Brücke von der Neuen zur Alten Welt, reagiert auf das Werk anderer Künstler und Dichter wie Giacometti, Thomas Hardy oder Richard Hugo.
Airstream Land Yacht, die Bezeichnung für ein Wohnmobil, die drei Elemente vereint, Luft, Erde und Wasser, ist der Titel des dritten Bands, der 2006 erschien und Ken Babstock über die Grenzen der anglophonen Welt hinaus bekannt machte. Gedichte daraus wurden ins Niederländische, Französische, Serbo-Kroatische und Lettische übersetzt. Lutz Seiler, einer der bedeutendsten zeitgenössischen Dichter hierzulande, hat im Rahmen des Übersetzungsworkshops „VERSschmuggel“ einige Gedichte ins Deutsche übertragen, als Ken Babstock auf Einladung der Berliner Literaturwerkstatt am Poesiefestival 2007 teilnahm. Darunter auch „The World's Hub“, Babstocks freie Adaption eines Gedichts von Pier Paolo Pasolini, die auf Deutsch unter dem Titel „Die Nabe der Welt“ eine Ahnung von der Bild- und Klangkraft des kanadischen Dichters vermittelt: „... Ein jeder unterwegs, wohin/ auch immer in den grenzen ihres nichts; wer übrig/ bleibt gefangen im öffentlichen nahverkehr: gepfercht/ in tausend-watt-leuchtstreifen/ hockten die armen, die irren, adoleszenten/ und führerschein-verlierer, die schon am tagbesoffenen,/ und Maltons neuankömmlinge.“ Babstock revanchierte sich mit der Übersetzung einiger Gedichte von Lutz Seiler ins Englische, ein produktiver Austausch, der demnächst fortgesetzt werden soll.
In Kanada überschlugen sich auch bei diesem dritten Band die Kritiker, Ken Babstock wurde in einem Atemzug mit W.H. Auden genannt und 2007 für den Griffin Poetry Prize nominiert, den weltweit höchstdotierten Lyrikpreis. Die Jury, zu der auch Charles Simic gehörte, begründete ihre Auswahl unter anderem mit Babstocks ungeheurer Bandbreite: „Hier haben wir es mit einem Dichter zu tun, der praktisch alles gestalten kann, in formaler wie thematischer Hinsicht, Liebe, Landschaft, Körper, Stadt, physischer Schmerz und die freudige Wahrnehmung sinnlicher Details einer Welt voller Wunder und Rätsel. … Babstock kann prägnant sein, von abgründiger Komik, zärtlich, elegisch, weise, geheimnisvoll, doch ist er dabei stets unverbraucht und stets aufrichtig.“ Über diese Würdigung dürfte sich der Dichter besonders gefreut haben, der schon in ganz jungen Jahren in der Poesie das wahre Wort suchte.
Zu Beginn seiner Lesung bei der Griffin-Prize-Zeremonie sagte Babstock, der sich auch als Herausgeber und Dozent für die Vermittlung von Lyrik einsetzt, er würde Amok laufen, wenn ihn die Medien noch ein einziges Mal fragten, ob die Poesie tot sei. Seine Diagnose lautet, dass es ihr prächtig geht – was er mit jedem Vers aufs Neue beweist. Im Frühjahr 2011 erscheint bei House of Anansi der lang erwartete vierte Band, Methodis Hatchet, während er wieder an neuen Gedichten arbeitet, die sich unter anderem mit physikalischen Fragen und der Philosophie der Zeit befassen. Neuerdings lockt ihn auch die Prosa, so dass wir eines Tages vielleicht sogar einen Roman aus der Feder dieses begnadeten Dichters zu lesen bekommen werden.





Print
VERSschmuggel /reVERSible: Canadian Poetry /Poésie du Québec. Herausgegeben von Thomas Wohlfahrt. Autoren: Ken Babstock, Claude Beausoleil, Nico Bleutge und andere. Verlag Das Wunderhorn, Heidelberg 2008 Lyrikline: „Kompatibilist“ und „Die Nabe der Welt“, deutsche Fassungen von Lutz Seiler. http://lyrikline.org
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Weltklang - Nacht der Poesie

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK