Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Temur Butikashvili was born in 1961 in Tiflis, in the Republic of Georgia, where he currently teaches as a professor of Documentary Film Studies at the Technical University. After studying film direction in Kiev, he produced numerous feature- and documentary films for television in Georgia. Honored with many awards, his films have been screened at various international film festivals, including the 2008 Berlinale. At the “MANA-96” Television Film Festival, his feature film “Why Are You Laughing?” received the Best Television Film award. In 1995, at the same festival, his documentary film “Liturgy on Georgia in the 20th Century” was chosen.

A distinguishing characteristic of Temur Butikashvili’s work is the attention his gives to the little people, the have-nots. In his carefully composed images, the director observes their day-to-day, often melancholic stories, sometimes seasoned with a strange sense of comedy. These private dramas unfold against the backdrop of a society on the brink of radical change. Here too, time-honored traditions rub shoulders with a new lifestyle.

In the film “Secondhand Sale” (2007) a moody refrigerator is the last surviving piece of inherited inventory the protagonist still owns. The rest has already been hocked to finance his daily vodka consumption. The interested buyer does more than ignore the threatening humming noise the refrigerator makes; she even takes the poor drinker in her arms. Without this actually setting things right, it does make the situation extremely funny. By no means do the characters in this short, offbeat comedy represent an ideal beauty or behavior. Moreover, though poor and lonely, they hardly qualify as desperate. In the last scene, the protagonist, meanwhile robbed of his refrigerator, sits in the windowsill with his feet dangling over the edge. He has no intention of plunging to his death. Instead, he bellows his hunger for life into the far-reaching emptiness of this suburb, while the camera pulls back from him and the neighboring abandoned windows of the high-rise, showing the loner to be part of a huge, seed box of a concrete structure. In 2008 the film “Secondhand Sale” was screened at the short film competition of the Berlinale, where it was nominated for the “Prix UIP 08” and the DAAD short film award.

“The Return” (1994) of a father released from prison leads to confronting the decline of his family. The house is totally run-down, his son drinks, and even his wife’s grave is missing. While the father’s harsh words keep his son at a distance, what gradually shows itself is the way that two generations struggle with guilt, crime, and forgiveness. Butkashvili releases the viewer from this entanglement with gentle confidence. In 1999, at the international “Golden Knight” Film Festival in Russia, “The Return” received the Special Award of the Jury. In 1994 the film was selected for the official competition program of the Festival of International Audiovisual Programs (FIPA) in Cannes.

“The Disgrace” (1992) of a young girl, who leaves the city and flees to her family’s farmhouse, puts her family’s love to the test. The daughter’s stomach is big and round—with no husband in sight. With tremendous warmth, Butikashvili calmly portrays the conflict between tradition-honored conventions and the challenges that accompany the new social outlook. The father, who intends to send his daughter back to the city alone, changes his mind during the long ride to the station. So the family turns back. Butikashvili leaves the ending open to interpretation. Facing the darkness together, however, signals a muted optimism. Whether in the minor, casual observations such as the overcrowded waiting room or on the symbolic level, the film says a great deal about present-day Georgia. In 1992, the same year “Disgrace” was chosen as Best Short Film at the “Golden Eagle” Film Festival, it received the Special Award of the Jury at the “Molodist” Film Festival in Kiev. Later, it was selected for the official competition program of the 1994 FIPA (Festival of International Audiovisual Programs) in Cannes.


Films (Selection):
2007 Secondhand Sale (short film, Digi Beta, 25 min)
1996 Why Are You Laughing? (feature film, video)
1995 Liturgy on Georgia in the 20th Century (documentary film)
1994 Kerpi / The Return (feature film, 47 min, 16 mm)
1992 Sirtskhvili / Disgrace (short film, 29 min, 16 mm)


Print
Films (Selection): 2007 Secondhand Sale (short film, Digi Beta, 25 min) 1996 Why Are You Laughing? (feature film, video) 1995 Liturgy on Georgia in the 20th Century (documentary film) 1994 Kerpi / The Return (feature film, 47 min, 16 mm) 1992 Sirtskhvili / Disgrace (short film, 29 min, 16 mm)
Events by DAAD
"Second Hand Sale" Filmvorführung und Gespräch

"Vorhang auf..."

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Temur Butikaschwili wurde 1961 in Tiflis, Georgien, geboren. Dort lehrt er heute als Professor für Dokumentarfilm an der Technischen Universität. Nach seinem Regiestudium in Kiew realisierte er zahlreiche Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme für das georgische Fernsehen. Temur Butikaschwilis Filme wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet und liefen auf internationalen Festivals wie zum Beispiel auf der Berlinale 2008. Temur Butikaschwilis Spielfilm „Warum lachst du?“ wurde als bester Fernsehfilm beim Fernsehfilmfestival „MANA-96“ ausgezeichnet. Sein Dokumentarfilm „Liturgie über Georgien im XX. Jahrhundert“ wurde 1995 für dasselbe Festival ausgewählt.
Butikaschwilis Augenmerk gilt vor allem den kleinen Leuten, den Habenichtsen. In sorgfältig komponierten Bildern beobachtet der Regisseur ihre alltäglichen, oft melancholischen, manchmal mit einer skurrilen Komik gewürzten Geschichten. Die privaten Dramen spielen vor dem Hintergrund einer sich im Umbruch befindlichen Gesellschaft. Althergebrachte Traditionen reiben sich am neuen Lebensstil.
In „Second hand sale“ (2007) ist ein launischer Kühlschrank das letzte Stück des ererbten Inventars, das dem Protagonisten geblieben ist. Die restlichen Möbel hat er bereits für den täglichen Wodkabedarf versetzt. Die Kaufinteressentin erbarmt sich nicht nur des bedrohlich grollenden Kühlschranks. Sie drückt auch den armen Trinker an ihre Brust. Damit wird keinesfalls alles gut, sondern höchst lustig. In dieser kurzen, skurrilen Komödie passen die Charaktere in kein Leistungs- oder Schönheitsideal, sie sind arm und einsam, aber keineswegs verzweifelt. In der letzten Einstellung sitzt der nun auch seines Kühlschranks beraubte Protagonist auf dem Fensterbrett und lässt seine Füße nach draußen baumeln. Doch er hat nicht vor, sich zu Tode zu stürzen. Statt dessen brüllt er seinen Lebenshunger hinaus in die weite Öde der Vorstadt, während sich die Kamera von ihm und den benachbarten, verlassenen Fenstern des Hochhauses entfernt und ihn als Teil eines riesigen Setzkastens aus Beton zeigt. Der Film „Second hand sale“ wurde im Kurzfilmwettbewerb der Internationalen Filmfestspiele in Berlin 2008 gezeigt und dort für den „Prix UIP 08“ sowie den Kurzfilmpreis des DAAD nominiert.
„Die Rückkehr“ (1994) eines Vaters aus dem Gefängnis dagegen konfrontiert ihn mit dem Zerfall seiner Familie. Selbst das Grab seiner Frau ist verschwunden, das Haus heruntergekommen, der Sohn trinkt. Mit harten Worten distanziert sich der Vater von seinem Sohn. Erst ganz allmählich entschlüsselt sich das Ringen zweier Generationen um Schuld, Sühne und Vergebung. Butikashwili entlässt den Zuschauer mit leiser Zuversicht aus diesem Geflecht. Beim Internationalen Filmfestival „Goldener Ritter“ in Russland erhielt „Die Rückkehr“ 1999 den Sonderpreis der Jury. Als offizieller Wettbewerbsbeitrag lief der Film 1994 beim „Festival of International Audiovisual Programs“ (FIPA) in Cannes.
„Die Schande“ (1992) eines jungen Mädchens, das aus der Stadt in das Bauernhaus ihrer Eltern zurückkehrt, stellt deren Liebe auf die Probe. Denn der Bauch der Tochter ist rund und keine Ehemann in Sicht. Mit großer Ruhe und Wärme erzählt Butikashwili hier von dem Konflikt zwischen althergebrachten Konventionen und den Herausforderungen der gesellschaftlichen Neuordnung. Der Vater will die Tochter allein zurück in die Stadt schicken, doch auf der langen Fahrt zum Bahnhof besinnt er sich. Die Familie kehrt um. Das Ende gestaltet Bukashwilis offen. Der gemeinsame Gang im Dunkeln signalisiert verhaltenen Optimismus. Die Geschichte erzählt gerade in kleinen, beiläufigen Beobachtungen wie in dem überfüllten Wartesaal, aber auch auf der Symbolebene viel über das heutige Georgien. „Die Schande“ wurde 1992 als Bester Kurzfilm beim Filmfestival „Goldener Adler“ ausgezeichnet und erhielt im selben Jahr den Sonderpreis der Jury beim Kiewer Filmfestival „Molodist“. 1994 lief der Film als offizieller Wettbewerbsbeitrag beim „Festival of International Audiovisual Programs“ (FIPA) in Cannes.
Mit dem Berliner Exil zweier bedeutender georgischer Schriftsteller möchte Temur Butikashwili sich während seines DAAD-Stipendiums auseinandersetzen.
Grigol Robakidse (1882-1962) gehört zu den Begründern der modernen psychologischen Erzählung in Georgien. Er engagierte sich in der Widerstandsbewegung gegen die sowjetische Einflußnahme in Georgien und kooperierte im Rahmen dessen auch mit der deutschen Wehrmacht des Dritten Reichs. Die sowjetische Machtübernahme in seinem Heimatland drängte Robakidse 1930 schließlich ins Berliner Exil.
Giwi Margwelaschwili (* 1927) dagegen wurde bereits in Berlin geboren und kehrte 1990 dorthin zurück. Er gilt als einer der wichtigsten, noch lebenden Vertreter der georgischen Phänomenologie.
Temur Butikaschwili will seinen Aufenthalt in Berlin zur Recherche und Dreh eines Dokumentarfilms über beide Autoren nutzen, dessen Ergebnisse dann in die Realisierung eines fiktionalen Drehbuchs einfließen und in der Herstellung eines Spielfilms münden sollen.






Print
Filme (Auswahl): 2007 Second Hand Sale, Kurzfilm (Digi Beta, 25 min) 1996 Warum lachst du? Spielfilm (Video) 1995 Liturgie über Georgien im XX. Jahrhundert, Dokumentarfilm 1994 Kerpi/Die Rückkehr, Spielfilm (47 min, 16 mm) 1992 Sirtskhvili/Die Schande, Kurzfilm (29 min, 16 mm)
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
"Second Hand Sale" Filmvorführung und Gespräch

"Vorhang auf..."

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK