Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Dorota Mas?owska, born in 1983 in the Polish city of Wejherewo (Pommern), enjoyed a sheltered childhood in the province. Her first novel, written when she was eighteen, “Snow White and Russian Red” (Wojna Polsko-Ruska pod flaga bia?o-czerwona), was published in the weeks preceding her final exams at high school. Her intended message was “to escape this reality and have writing act like a drug.” When her 2002 literary debut was published, it caused a sensation in Poland and was soon translated into ten languages. Despite being bitterly rejected in conservative circles, the young writer was awarded both the coveted Passport Prize of the magazine Polityka and the Nike Audience Award. In Germany, she received the Youth Literature Award. From 2002 to 2005, while majoring in psychology and Polish studies, Mas?owska regularly contributed articles to newspapers and magazines, among others to the literary magazines Lampa, one of Poland’s most important forums for young Polish writers, and Gazeta Wyborcza. In 2005 she published her second novel, “The Queen’s Peacock” (Paw Krolowej), a linguistic, media-critical tour de france awarded Poland’s greatest literary prize, the Nike Literary Award. Afterward, Mas?owska wrote her first play, meanwhile part of the repertoire of Warsaw’s Rozmaitosci Theater since November 2006. Since 2008 the play has been staged as “Zwei arme, polnisch sprechende Rumänen” (A Couple of Poor, Polish-speaking Romanians) in Germany, where it was premiered at Berlin’s Maxim Gorki Theater. Mas?owska is currently at work on her third novel and lives with her small daughter in Warsaw.

Her being so young an author with a still rather slim oeuvre, which demonstrates enormous range and verbal force already, is precisely what makes Dorota Mas?owska so fascinating for her audiences at home and abroad. Having being staged, by the media, as a provocative, pop star of Polish literature plays a role here as well, even when this happens against the author’s wishes: “They (the Polish media) bill me as Pop Culture. At one point, I felt as if my head was filled with nothing but hay.” Of course, instead of hay on the brain, the first thing one notices when reading one of Mas?owska’s novels is her sharp wit.

“Snow White and Russian Red” takes place in a small town in eastern Poland. It shares a few hours in the life of Andrzej (a character named “the tough guy”), hours in which the young man is left by his girlfriend, meets up with other women, takes drugs, and falls into a delirium that nearly costs him his life. For the plot being so easily grasped on the surface, the protagonist’s perceptions become all the more intense and diverse; apart from conveying his soul’s frustration in love—as though a modern, underdog answer to the suffering of young Werther; they also lend a brash, poetic tone to the general indignation aroused by the social conditions in post-communist Poland. This unique perceptual ability is a distinguishing feature of the narrator and author alike. Also, this is how Mas?owska calls the capitalism seemingly introduced overnight into Poland the main source of the private and political sense of crisis at large. In opposition to this, she uses language as a weapon capable of naming everything and pulling out all the stops, from dirty realism, biting irony, the ambient sounds of diverse milieus, and on to pure poetry.

All the media fuss that this young writer’s exceptional debut attracted was productively put to use in her second novel, “The Queen’s Peacock”. Here, in an audacious, virtuoso, rap form, MC Dorota (Mas?owska) dismantles the mechanisms of the entertainment industry, which function in today’s Poland no differently than they do throughout the entire western world. In the forefront are the crazed marketing strategies meant to help the has-been of a pop star manage a comeback. Set on location in Warsaw, the novel portrays all of Polish society: as a gigantic target group, as an aggressive sought-after crowd of potential consumers. Not yet thirty, Mas?owska is not least of all a clear-sighted critic of modern conditions: “Maybe it really is the case that my writing is a form of resistance pitted against a flattening of the world, and against thought manipulation… I really do write with a sacred anger. I smash language to pieces in order to reassemble it into something new and see what it becomes.” So we eagerly await Mas?owska’s next slight of the hand.



Print
Publications translated into German: Schneeweiß und Russenrot (Snow White and Russian Red), a novel; translated from Polish by Olaf Kühl; published by Kiepenheuer & Witsch, Cologne, 2004 Die Reiherkönigin (The Queen’s Peacock, a rap); authorized translation from Polish by Olaf Kühl; published by Kiepenheuer & Witsch, Cologne, 2007 Zwei arme, polnisch sprechende Rumänen (A Couple of Poor, Polish-speaking Romanians), translated into German by Olaf Kühl; published by Rowohlt Theater Verlag, 2008
Events by DAAD
"Vorhang auf..."

Ich kann Wörter zu Torten schichten

Ich kann Wörter zu Torten schichten

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Dorota Mas?owska wurde 1983 im polnischen Wejherewo (Pommern) geboren und verlebte eine behütete Kindheit in der Provinz. Ihren ersten Roman „Schneeweiß und Russenrot“ (Wojna Polsko-Ruska pod flaga bia?o-czerwona) schrieb sie mit achtzehn, ausgerechnet in den Wochen vor der Abiturprüfung: Sie wollte nach eigener Aussage „dieser Realität entkommen, das Schreiben war wie eine Droge“. Als ihr Debüt 2002 erschien, sorgte es zunächst in Polen für Furore, um dann bald in zehn Sprachen übersetzt zu werden. Trotz erbitterter Ablehnung in konservativen Kreisen wurde die junge Autorin dafür mit dem angesehenen Passport-Preis der Zeitschrift Polityka und dem Nike-Publikumspreis ausgezeichnet. In Deutschland erhielt sie den Jugendliteraturpreis. Neben ihrem Psychologie- und Polonistikstudium schrieb Dorota Mas?owska von 2002 bis 2005 regelmäßig Beiträge für Zeitungen und Zeitschriften, unter anderem für das Literaturmagazin Lampa, eins der wichtigsten Foren junger polnischer Literatur, und für die Gazeta Wyborcza. 2005 veröffentlichte sie ihren zweiten Roman „Die Reiherkönigin“ (Paw Krolowej). Für dieses sprachspielerische, medienkritische Bravourstück wurde ihr der Nike-Preis zugesprochen, der bedeutendste Literaturpreis Polens. Danach verfasste Dorota Mas?owska ihr erstes Theaterstück, das seit November 2006 im Warschauer Teatr Rozmaitosci auf dem Spielplan steht und in Deutschland 2008 unter dem Titel „Zwei arme, polnisch sprechende Rumänen“ am Berliner Maxim Gorki Theater Premiere hatte. Zur Zeit arbeitet sie an ihrem dritten Roman. Dorota Mas?owska lebt mit ihrer kleinen Tochter in Warschau.

Eine sehr junge Schriftstellerin, ein noch schmales Werk, das bereits eine enorme Bandbreite an Ausdrucksformen, eine ungeheure sprachliche Wucht aufweist – das erklärt die Faszination, die Dorota Mas?owska auf ihr einheimisches und internationales Publikum ausübt. Die Inszenierung als provokativer Popstar der jungen polnischen Literatur tut sicher ein Übriges, auch wenn sie gegen den erklärten Willen der Autorin erfolgt: „Die (polnischen Medien) buchten mich auf das Ticket Popkultur. Irgendwann hatte ich das Gefühl, nur Heu in meinem Gehirn zu haben.“ Dass sie statt Heu im Gehirn einen bemerkenswert klugen Kopf hat, zeigt sich sehr schnell, wenn man Mas?owskas Romane liest.

„Schneeweiß und Russenrot“ spielt in einer ostpolnischen Kleinstadt und erzählt von einigen Stunden aus dem Leben Andrzejs, genannt „der Starke“. Stunden, in denen der junge Mann von seiner Freundin verlassen wird, mit diversen neuen Frauen anbändelt, Drogen konsumiert und in ein Delirium verfällt, das mit dem Tod zu enden droht. So überschaubar die äußere Handlung ist, so intensiv und vielschichtig ist die Wahrnehmung des Starken, der sich nicht nur seinen Liebesfrust von der Seele redet – als moderne Underdog-Antwort auf den leidenden Werther – sondern auch einem allgemeinen Zorn auf die gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse im postkommunistischen Polen schnoddrig-poetischen Ausdruck verleiht. Diese besondere Wahrnehmungsfähigkeit zeichnet Erzähler und Autorin gleichermaßen aus. Und so benennt Mas?owska den praktisch über Nacht in Polen eingeführten Kapitalismus als eine Hauptquelle des privaten und politischen Krisengefühls. Dagegen setzt sie als Waffe eine Sprache ein, die alles zu benennen vermag, die alle Register ziehen kann, vom dreckigen Realismus, von beißender Ironie über die O-Töne unterschiedlichster Milieus bis zur reinen Poesie.

Den Medienrummel, den die junge Autorin nach diesem bemerkenswerten Debüt am eigenen Leib erlebte, nutzte sie produktiv für ihren zweiten Roman „Die Reiherkönigin“. In kühner, virtuoser Rap-Form demontiert hier MC Dorota (Mas?owska) die Mechanismen der Unterhaltungsindustrie, die im heutigen Polen nach den gleichen Gesetzen funktioniert wie in der gesamten westlichen Welt. Vordergründig geht es um die aberwitzigen Marketingstrategien, die dem abgehalfterten Popstar Stan Retro zu einem Comeback verhelfen sollen, aber auch in diesem Roman wird – diesmal vom Schauplatz Warschau aus - die gesamte polnische Gesellschaft porträtiert: als gigantische Zielgruppe, als aggressiv umworbene Schar von potentiellen Konsumenten. Mas?owska, noch keine dreißig Jahre alt, ist nicht zuletzt eine scharfsichtige Kritikerin moderner Zustände: „Vielleicht ist es wirklich so, dass mein Schreiben eine Form von Widerstand gegen die Verflachung der Welt, gegen die Manipulation unseres Denkens ist ... Ich schreibe wirklich mit einem heiligen Zorn. Ich zertrümmere die Sprache in ihre Bestandteile, um sie neu zusammenzusetzen und zu sehen, was daraus wird.“ Und so erwarten wir gespannt Mas?owskas nächsten Streich.



Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung: Schneeweiß und Russenrot. Roman. Aus dem Polnischen von Olaf Kühl. Kiepenheuer & Witsch, Köln 2004 Die Reiherkönigin. Ein Rap. Autorisierte Übersetzung aus dem Polnischen von Olaf Kühl. Kiepenheuer & Witsch, 2007 Zwei arme, polnisch sprechende Rumänen. Deutsch von Olaf Kühl. Rowohlt Theater Verlag, 2008
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
"Vorhang auf..."

Ich kann Wörter zu Torten schichten

Ich kann Wörter zu Torten schichten

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK