Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Wojciech Kuczok, born in 1972 in Chorzów/Upper Silesia, studied in Katowice and has worked as a sports journalist and film critic. Since 1992 he has published poems and stories in the Gazeta Wyborcza and Rzeczpospolita, among other notable magazines. His first volume of stories, published in 1996, was followed by other publications, which won for him the unanimous praise of critics and numerous awards as well as the occasional comparison to Witold Gombrowicz. In 2004, for his novel “Gnój” (Scumbag), Kuczok won Poland’s most prestigious literary prize, the Nike Literary Award, along with the Nike Audience Award. Based on this novel he wrote the screenplay to the Magdelena Piekorz’s feature film “Pregi” (Welts), not only awarded the principal prize at the Gdynia Polish Film Festival, but also nominated as Poland’s candidate for an Oscar. Work on another feature film is in progress. Kuczok is currently finishing a new novel, while at the same time continuing his work as a playwright, initiated with the dramatization of his story “Dr. Haust” for the Warsaw Studio Theater. He lives in Chorzów.

This is an author who conveys the unspeakable, the inexpressible, in polished sentences of such beauty and musicality that his audacity and radical outlook are nearly overlooked at first. But only “nearly overlooked,” since the physical pains and emotional torment endured by many of his protagonists are conveyed using an unavoidably sublime language that allows every possible nuance to surface—the one subtly thought-provoking, the other crudely comical. In addition, this is how the flip side of suffering is made visible, as it implores luck, love, and freedom—achieved at a high prize. Repeatedly, Kuczok’s language elevates the border between tragedy and farce, while it entices with a humor as unconventional as effective. Contrary to what his existential themes promise at first glance, Kuczok is a great humorist. As an essayist, he vehemently pursues the victory of laughter over the catholic-nationalist regime of the Kaczynski Brothers, and, as a child, he was often reprimanded because of his unrestrained love of mocking whatever passed for a form of authority.

In Kuczok’s collection of stories, “In a Circle of Ghosts” (Widmokr?g), published in 2004, love and death often connect in surprising manners—with every conceivable variation and mood arising in this slim volume: from the thoroughly sensual-earthy first love between a young man living in a city and a girl from the country, and the loneliness of a psychologist, who specializes in abandoned husbands, to a symbiosis that even survives the mortality of the body. Though they appear to be in danger and rather fragile, the protagonists of this literary cosmos are often characterized by an imaginativeness and willpower, which, from time to time, allows them to overcome life’s limitations—if not death itself. This is the case of the young businessman, who, seated on a park bench, encounters a beggar possessing an angelic beauty: a stranger who, without words, reveals to him his until now unadmitted homosexuality and frees him from his straightjacket, in this case his priceless designer suit, the embodiment of the career climber without a soul. Or the young nun, who, during a train ride, submits with all her senses to a heavenly lover—the gusts of air rushing in through the open window.

The novel “Dreckskerl” (Scumbag) deals with classic subject matter—the downfall of a family set against an historically significant backdrop. Of course, as Lothar Müller of the Süddeutschen Zeitung observes, Kuczok chooses a completely different approach for this: “The war, the German armed forces, and the People’s Republic of Poland … all this appears in the book. None of it, however, dictates the laws governing the telling of the story. The momentum, toughness, and vile jokes in this family saga evolve from the decisiveness on the part of the author to keep contemporary history at a distance. This makes the book unlike the majority of the family sagas published in Germany over the last decade.” The hopelessness, muted violence, and desperation, which characterize nearly an entire century of Central European history, are arranged in a restricting private space, in a ruinous house somewhere in Silesia. “Dreckskerl” is the pet name that old K. uses to address his despised, weakling of a son, before giving him another thrashing. However, in the end the son’s powerful imagination and ironically fractured recollections triumph over the father’s brutality, while the house, the stage for countless familial battles, sinks away in dung. An evil vision filled with an overpowering, emancipating beauty—told as well as Wojciech Kuczok’s storytelling magic permits.




Print
Publications translated into German: Im Kreis der Gespenster (In a Circle of Ghosts), stories; translated from Polish by Friedrich Griese; published by Suhrkamp Verlag, Frankfurt, 2006 Dreckskerl (Scumbag), an anti-biography; translated from Polish by Gabriele Leupold and Dorota Stroi?ska; published by Suhrkamp Verlag, Frankfurt, 2007 Höllisches Kino (Infernal Cinema), on Pasolini and others; translated from Polish by Gabriele Leupold and Dorota Stroi?ska; published by Suhrkamp Verlag, Frankfurt, 2008
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Wojciech Kuczok, 1972 in Chorzów/Oberschlesien geboren, studierte in Katowice und arbeitete als Sportjournalist und Filmkritiker. Seit 1992 veröffentlichte er Gedichte und Erzählungen, unter anderem in der Gazeta Wyborcza und Rzeczpospolita. Sein erster Erzählband erschien 1996, weitere folgten, sie trugen ihm einhelliges Kritikerlob und etliche Auszeichnungen ein, sowie gelegentliche Vergleiche mit Witold Gombrowicz. Für seinen Roman „Gnój“ („Dreckskerl“) erhielt er 2004 den wichtigsten polnischen Literaturpreis Nike sowie den Nike-Publikumspreis. Auf der Grundlage dieses Romans verfasste er das Drehbuch zu dem Film „Pr?gi“ („Die Striemen“) von Magdalena Piekorz, der im selben Jahr den Hauptpreis des Filmfestivals in Gdynia erhielt und als polnischer Kandidat für den Oscar nominiert wurde. Ein weiterer Spielfilm ist in Vorbereitung. Zur Zeit beendet Wojciech Kuczok einen neuen Roman und setzt seine Arbeit als Theaterautor fort, die mit der Dramatisierung seiner Erzählung „Dr. Haust“ für das Warschauer Studio Theater begonnen hat. Wojciech Kuczok lebt in Chorzów.

Ein Autor, der das Unaussprechliche, Unsagbare in geschliffenen Sätzen von solcher Schönheit und Musikalität ausdrückt, dass man seine Kühnheit und Radikalität fast übersehen könnte. Aber nur fast, denn die physischen Schmerzen und seelischen Qualen, die viele seiner Protagonisten erdulden, werden gerade durch eine sublime Sprache spürbar, die alle Nuancen - auch die einer mal subtilen, mal derben Komik - zulässt. So macht sie auch die Kehrseite des Leids erfahrbar, beschwört das Glück herauf, die Liebe, die Freiheit – die um einen hohen Preis zu erringen ist. Immer wieder hebt Kuczoks Sprache die Grenze zwischen Tragik und Farce auf, sie besticht durch einen so eigenwilligen wie wirksamen Witz. Anders als seine existenziellen Themen auf den ersten Blick verheißen, ist Kuczok ein großer Humorist. Als Essayist trat er vehement für den Sieg des Lachens über das katholisch-nationalistische Regime der Gebrüder Kaczynski ein und wurde schon als Kind wegen seiner unbändigen Spottlust, die jeglicher Form von Autorität galt, gerügt.

In Kuczoks Erzählband „Im Kreis der Gespenster“ („Widmokr?g“, OA 2004) gehen Liebe und Tod oft eine überraschende Verbindung ein, und so ist in diesem schmalen Buch Platz für alle denkbaren Spielarten und Stimmungen: von der überaus sinnlich-erdigen ersten Liebe eines Stadtjungen zu einem Mädchen vom Land über die Einsamkeit eines Psychologen, der sich auf verlassene Ehemänner spezialisiert hat, bis zu einer Symbiose, die selbst die Vergänglichkeit des Körpers übersteht. So gefährdet und verletzlich die Menschen in diesem literarischen Kosmos erscheinen, zeichnen sie sich oft durch eine Vorstellungs- und Willenskraft aus, die ihnen zuweilen erlaubt, Lebensschranken – wenn nicht den Tod selbst – zu überwinden. Wie im Fall des jungen Geschäftsmanns, der auf einer Parkbank einem Bettler von engelsgleicher Schönheit begegnet; der Bettler offenbart dem anderen, ganz ohne Worte, seine bisher nicht eingestandene Homosexualität und befreit ihn von seiner Zwangsjacke, in diesem Fall ein teurer Designeranzug, Inbegriff des seelenlosen Karrieremenschen. Oder wie die junge Nonne, die sich für die Dauer einer Zugfahrt mit allen Sinnen einem himmlischen Liebhaber hingibt – dem Fahrtwind, der durch das offene Fenster dringt.

Der Roman „Dreckskerl“ handelt von einem klassischen Sujet – dem Niedergang einer Familie vor bewegtem zeithistorischem Hintergrund -, allerdings wählt Kuczok dafür einen ganz eigenen Ansatz, wie Lothar Müller in der Süddeutschen Zeitung bemerkt: „Der Krieg, die deutsche Besatzung, dann die Volksrepublik Polen ... all das ist in diesem Buch vorhanden. Aber es bestimmt nicht die Gesetze, nach denen hier erzählt wird. Denn die Wucht, die Härte und der böse Witz dieses Familienromans gehen aus der Entschiedenheit hervor, mit der sein Autor die Zeitgeschichte auf Distanz hält. Das unterscheidet (ihn) vom Gros der Familienromane, die im vergangenen Jahrzehnt in Deutschland erschienen sind.“ Die Trostlosigkeit, dumpfe Gewalt und Verzweiflung, die fast ein ganzes mitteleuropäisches Jahrhundert geprägt haben, stellen sich hier auf engstem privatem Raum ein, in einem verfallenden Haus irgendwo in Schlesien. „Dreckskerl“ - das ist der Kosename, mit dem der alte K. seinen verachteten schwächlichen Sohn ruft, um ihm wieder einmal eine Tracht Prügel zu verpassen. Am Ende werden die machtvolle Imagination und der ironisch gebrochene Rückblick des Sohnes über die Brutalität des Vaters siegen, während das Haus, Schauplatz so vieler familiärer Schlachten, komplett in Jauche versinkt. Eine böse Vision voller bezwingender, emanzipatorischer Schönheit – das vermag die Magie des Erzählers Wojciech Kuczok.



Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung: Im Kreis der Gespenster. Erzählungen. Aus dem Polnischen von Friedrich Griese. Suhrkamp Verlag, Frankfurt am Main 2006 Dreckskerl. Eine Antibiographie. Aus dem Polnischen von Gabriele Leupold und Dorota Stroi?ska. Suhrkamp Verlag, Frankfurt am Main 2007 Höllisches Kino. Über Pasolini und andere. Aus dem Polnischen von Gabriele Leupold und Dorota Stroi?ska. Suhrkamp Verlag, Frankfurt am Main 2008
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK