Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Rattawut Lapcharoensap was born in Chicago in 1979. He grew up in Bangkok and studied at the Triamudomsuksa Pattanakarn School in the Thai capital, at Cornell University in New York, and at the University of Michigan. He graduated from the latter institution with a degree in Creative Writing. He has published short stories in magazines such as »Granta«, »Glimmer Train«, »Zoetrope«, »One Story« and in several anthologies, including »Best New American Voices« and »Best American Non-Required Reading«.
Lapcharoensap's first short story collection »Sightseeing« (2005) has been published in eleven countries. In the seven stories the Western view of Thailand as an exotic holiday location is demystified mainly through the perspective of boy protagonists. The first story, »Farangs«, depicts the crude behaviour of pleasure seeking tourists, met with envious disdain by the Thais who depend on them. »You give them history, temples, pagodas, traditional dance, floating markets, seafood curry, tapioca desserts, silk-weaving cooperatives, but all they really want is to ride some hulking grey beasts like a bunch of wild men and to pant over girls and lie there half-dead getting skin cancer on the beach during the time in between«, the boy's mother gives free reign to her anger. However, he falls in love for the umpteenth time with a tourist, an affair which is bound to end unhappily. The title story, »Sightseeing«, portrays a touching mother-son relationship and an affectionate portrait of the country, yet most of the texts present Thailand through an overwhelmingly critical lens: »Priscilla the Cambodian« tells the story of a pogrom of natives against immigrant Cambodians, while »Draft Day« shows how omnipresent corruption brings about the end of a friendship. Here the main theme of Lapcharoensap's stories becomes explicit: The problems that emerge from social and economic inequality are a global phenomenon from which holiday destinations are not exempt.
In 2005 the collection won the Asian American Literary Award and was nominated for the Guardian First Book Award and the New York Public Library Young Lion Fiction Award. In the previous year the author held the David TK Wong Fellowship at the University of East Anglia, Norwich where he concentrated on his novel whose rights have already been bought in several countries. Lapcharoensap now lives in New York and teaches high school English in Manhattan. Most recently his collection of short stories »Valet« appeared in »Granta 97: Best of Young American Novelists 2«, in 2007.

English language publications
Sightseeing. Grove Press, New York


Print
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Rattawut Lapcharoensap wurde 1979 in Chicago geboren. Er wuchs in Bangkok auf und studierte an der Universität Triamudomsuksa Pattanakarn School in der thailändischen Hauptstadt, an der amerikanischen Cornell University und an der Universität von Michigan. Hier graduierte er im Fach Creative Writing. Er veröffentlichte erste Kurzgeschichten in den Magazinen »Granta«, »Glimmer Train«, »Zoetrope«, »One Story« und verschiedenen Anthologien, darunter »Best New American Voices« und »Best American Non-Required Reading«.
Lapcharoensaps erste Kurzgeschichtensammlung, »Sightseeing« (2005; dt. 2006), erschien in elf Ländern und wurde mit einhelliger Begeisterung aufgenommen. In den sieben Erzählungen wird das im westlichen Blick exotische Urlaubsparadies Thailand meist aus der unschuldsvollen Erzählperspektive eines Jungen entmystifiziert. Die erste Geschichte, »Farangs«, schildert die rohen Sitten der vergnügungssüchtigen Touristen und die neidvolle Verachtung der auf sie angewiesenen Thais. »Du bietest ihnen Geschichte, Tempel, Pagoden, Fischcurry, Tapiokadessert, Seidenweber-Kooperativen, aber sie wollen bloß wie Wilde auf einem riesigen grauen Vieh herumreiten und auf Mädchen herumkeuchen, und in der Zwischenzeit halb tot am Strand liegen und Hautkrebs kriegen«, lässt die Mutter des Erzählers ihrem Zorn freien Lauf. Der aber verliebt sich zum wiederholten Mal in eine Touristin, was natürlich nicht zu einem Happy End führt. Die Titelgeschichte, »Sightseeing«, zeichnet eine anrührende Mutter-Sohn-Beziehung und ein zärtliches Porträt des Landes, in den meisten Texten wird Thailand jedoch überwiegend kritisch geschildert: »Priscilla aus Kambodscha« erzählt von einem Pogrom der Einheimischen gegen zugewanderte Kambodschaner und in »Einberufungstag« wird geschildert, wie die allgegenwärtige Korruption eine Freundschaft ruiniert. Dabei wird das Grundmotiv von Lapcharoensaps Erzählungen besonders deutlich: Die aus sozialer und wirtschaftlicher Ungleichheit entstehenden Probleme sind ein globales Phänomen, von dem auch Urlaubsländer nicht ausgenommen sind.
Der Erzählband gewann den Asian American Literary Award wurde für den Guardian First Book Award und den New York Public Library Young Lion Fiction Award nominiert. Ein Jahr zuvor hatte der Autor die David TK Wong Fellowship der englischen University of East Anglia in Norwich angetreten. Dort konzentrierte er sich auf die Arbeit an einem Roman, dessen Rechte bereits in mehrere Länder verkauft sind. Lapcharoensap lebt inzwischen in New York und unterrichtet Englisch an eine Oberschule in Manhattan. Zuletzt erschein seine Kurzgeschichte »Valets« in »Granta 97: Best of Young American Novelists 2« (2007).


Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Sightseeing. Übersetzt von Ingo Herzke. Kiepenheuer und Witsch, Köln



Print
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK