Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Piotr Sommer, born in Wa?brzych / Silesia in 1948, is one of the most important Polish lyricists of the younger generation – following Zbigniew Herbert, Tadeusz Ró?ewicz or Wis?awa Szymborska - and lives as a poet, essayist, translator from English, and chief editor of the acclaimed literary magazine "Literatura na ?wiecie" (Literatur in the World) in Sulejówek near Warsaw. Since 1977, Piotr Sommer has published eight volumes of poetry (most recently "Piosenka pasterska", Song of the Herdsman, 1999) and two volumes of essays (most recently "Po stykach", 2005) as well as translations into Polish of works by Frank O'Hara, Charles Reznikoff, John Ashbery, Robert Lowell, Allen Ginsberg and Seamus Heaney, for example. As well as books, his work has included the famous "Literatura na ?wiecie" magazine; in the year 1986, Piotr Sommer presented New York lyricists in Polish translation and thus gave decisive impulses to the poet generation of "young Barbarians", whose debut in Poland came at the end of the 80s. Since the eighties, Piotr Sommer has taught regularly at American and British universities. He has been awarded several important prizes for literature and translation. A volume of Piotr Sommer's selected work appeared in German, entitled "Ein freier Tag im April", in the Edition Korrespondenzen in 2002; for the literary magazine "die horen", Piotr Sommer presented thirteen Polish poets under the title "Alles ist einmalig …" in the issue 4 / 2004.

Poems that appear spick and span in order to bask in the sun of publicity make Piotr Sommer sceptical. The same applies to poems that adopt a solemn tone, with a raised finger of warning - hidden only in the writer's pocket and always at the ready. And in Poland, there have already been too many political poems, equipped with an official stamp and the right documents. Piotr Sommer is in favour of the concrete in poetry: "everyday poetry" is his "antidote to global attitudes and temptations". And he is not concerned with "how often Oolong tea, Krucza Street, Broadway, or his fellow citizen Malicki from ?wider near Warsaw appear in a poem, but with a specific flavour to the language." And that is unmistakable in Piotr Sommer's work. His poems remain close to the people and objects that populate our everyday lives, to the route from bus stop to house, to the tree in Pow?zki cemetery, to the old dog that hears the lift coming, or to the little boy who does not know yet that he has a hare-lip; his poems listen for the ironies, "that no one notices, they are so short in duration / and with no impact", the "trivial points / that confirm metaphysics with absurd details", the "free days, if one will, / Fridays in April" and the "mnemotechnology of days"; they take a look at quite everyday occurrences and observations and make our perception permeable to the numinous space that exists directly beside the whirring, fluid conglomeration of signs, sounds and memories. For the whole of man is in this, "this intermediate meaning" – and in search of the "intermediate meaning" lies the unmistakable flavour of Piotr Sommer's language in his poems. It is mocking and ironic, with a wink of the eye, casual in its tone, permeated by a sometimes Asian-seeming simplicity and poetry – it is probably no coincidence that Piotr Sommer, alongside Frank O'Hara, views the 8th century Chinese lyricist Wang Wei as an important point of reference - oscillating between a scarcely perceptible, subliminal disquiet and bright light.

"I believe that poetry, in principle, emerges from sounds. Words standing beside one another or somewhat further away have a specific sound and – intoned in very different ways – they result in a music, which cannot be accommodated in the available units of syntax. Somehow, a linguistic melody is always richer than the sentence pattern in which it can be enclosed. Sometimes, when one hears the beginning of such a melody, the sentence templates suddenly become subordinate, they fit in with the melody and the listener also adapts himself to it – as if he had forgotten the syntax and his duties towards it. And by forgetting the syntax, he encourages it, makes it more flexible, he demonstrates to it that it is capable of accommodating more than it perhaps believed itself. (…) For poetry is music written to messages and to objects." (Piotr Sommer, in answer to the question "What do you understand by poetry …?")


Print
Publications in German Translation
Ein freier Tag im April. Gedichte. Translated from the Polish by Doreen Daume. With an essay by Michael Krüger. Edition Korrespondenzen, Vienna 2002
Publications in English Translation
Continued (Wesleyan Poetry). Wesleyan University Press 2005
Things to Translate, and Other Poems. Bloodaxe Books Ltd 1991
Two Anecdotes about East European Tribes (with a Few References to Latin) 1994
As Editor
Contemporary Polish Poetry. Bloodaxe Books Ltd 1996
Events by DAAD
Auswärtsspiel in Lissabon 2008 / Jogo Fora de Casa

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Piotr Sommer, 1948 in Wa?brzych / Schlesien geboren, ist einer der wichtigsten polnischen Lyriker der jüngeren – auf Zbigniew Herbert, Tadeusz Ró?ewicz oder Wis?awa Szymborska folgenden – Generation und lebt als Dichter, Essayist, Übersetzer aus dem Englischen sowie Chefredakteur der renommierten Literaturzeitschrift "Literatura na ?wiecie" (Literatur in der Welt) in Sulejówek bei Warschau. Seit 1977 hat Piotr Sommer acht Gedichtbände (zuletzt "Piosenka pasterska", Hirtenlied, 1999) und zwei Essaybände (zuletzt "Po stykach", 2005) veröffentlicht sowie Übersetzungen ins Polnische etwa von Frank O'Hara, Charles Reznikoff, John Ashbery, Robert Lowell, Allen Ginsberg oder Seamus Heaney vorgelegt – darunter neben Buchausgaben auch im Jahr 1986 das berühmte "Literatura na ?wiecie"-Heft, in dem Piotr Sommer New Yorker Lyriker in polnischen Übersetzungen vorstellte und damit der Dichter-Generation der "jungen Barbaren", die Ende der 80er Jahre in Polen debütierten, entscheidende Impulse gab. Seit den achtziger Jahren unterrichtet Piotr Sommer regelmäßig an amerikanischen Universitäten. Er wurde mehrfach mit wichtigen Literatur- und Übersetzerpreisen ausgezeichnet. Auf deutsch erschien von Piotr Sommer im Jahr 2002 der Auswahlband "Ein freier Tag im April" in der Edition Korrespondenzen; in der Literaturzeitschrift "die horen" hat Piotr Sommer in der Ausgabe 4 / 2004 unter dem Titel "Alles ist einmalig …" dreizehn polnische Dichter vorgestellt.

Gedichte, die wie aus dem Ei gepellt daherkommen, um sich im Licht der Öffentlichkeit zu sonnen, machen Piotr Sommer skeptisch. Genauso Gedichte, die einen feierlichen Ton anschlagen und den erhobenen Zeigefinger bereits in der Jackentasche versteckt halten. Und politische Gedichte, ausgestellt mit Stempel und Papier – davon hat es in Polen schon zu viele gegeben. Piotr Sommer setzt auf das Konkrete in der Poesie: "Alltagspoesie" ist sein "Gegengift zu globalen Haltungen und Verlockungen". Dabei geht es ihm nicht darum, "wie oft in einem Gedicht Oolong-Tee, die Kruczastraße, der Broadway oder der Mitbürger Malicki aus ?wider bei Warschau auftritt, sondern um einen spezifischen Geschmack der Sprache." Und der ist bei Piotr Sommer unverkennbar. Seine Gedichte bleiben nahe an den Menschen und Gegenständen, die unseren Alltag bevölkern, beim Weg zwischen Haltestelle und Haus, beim Baum auf dem Pow?zki-Friedhof, beim alten Hund, der der Lift kommen hört, oder beim kleinen Jungen, der noch nicht weiß, dass er eine Hasenscharte hat; seine Gedichte horchen den Ironien nach, "die keiner mitkriegt, die kurzlebig sind / und ohne Nachdruck", den "trivialen Pointen / die mit abwegigen Details die Metaphysik / quittieren", den "freien Tagen, so man will, / freitags im April" und der "Mnemotechnik der Tage"; sie nehmen ganz alltägliche Begebenheiten und Beobachtungen in den Blick und machen unsere Wahrnehmung durchlässig für den numinosen Raum, der direkt neben dem flirrenden, fluiden Konglomerat aus Zeichen, Geräuschen und Erinnerungen existiert. Denn darin, "in diesem Zwischensinn", steckt der ganze Mensch – und in dieser Suche nach dem "Zwischensinn" steckt in Piotr Sommers Gedichten der unverkennbare "Geschmack" seiner Sprache, die spöttisch-ironisch ist, mit einem Zwinkern in den Augenwinkeln, leger im Ton, von einer manchmal fast asiatisch anmutenden Schlichtheit und Poesie durchzogen – nicht umsonst wohl ist für Piotr Sommer neben Frank O'Hara der chinesische Lyriker des 8. Jahrhunderts Wang Wei eine wichtige Bezugsgröße –, changierend zwischen einer kaum wahrnehmbaren untergründigen Beunruhigung und einem hellen Leuchten.

"Ich glaube, dass Poesie im Prinzip aus Klängen entsteht. Nebeneinander und etwas weiter voneinander entfernt stehende Wörter klingen und ergeben eine auf unterschiedlichste Weise intonierte Musik, die sich nicht in von der Syntax vorgegebenen Einheiten unterbringen lässt. Eine Sprachmelodie ist immer irgendwie reicher als die Satzmuster, worin die Sprache eine Melodie einschließen möchte. Manchmal, wenn man den Beginn so einer Melodie hört, ordnen sich die Satz-Schablonen plötzlich unter, sie fügen sich der Melodie und auch der Hörende fügt sich ihr – als ob er die Syntax und seine Pflichten ihr gegenüber vergessen würde. Und indem er die Syntax vergisst, ermutigt er sie, macht sie flexibler, beweist ihr, dass mehr in sie hineinpasst, als sie sich vielleicht selbst zugetraut hat. (…) Denn Poesie, das ist Musik zur Bedeutung und zu den Dingen." (Piotr Sommer zur Frage "Was verstehen Sie unter Poesie …?")


Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Ein freier Tag im April. Gedichte. Aus dem Polnischen von Doreen Daume. Mit einer Miszelle von Michael Krüger. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2002
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Auswärtsspiel in Lissabon 2008 / Jogo Fora de Casa

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK