Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Marcelo Gomes was born 1962, in Recife in the North-West of Brazil, where he still lives today. After studying journalism he travelled to Great Britain, where he studied Film at Bristol University with a grant provided by the British Council. Gomes' first filmic works were videos, for which he received numerous prizes at international festivals. He was also awarded prizes in the categories of Screenplay and Direction for the short films "Maracatu, Maracatus" (1995) and "Clandestina Felicidade" (1998).
Gomes has been involved in intense collaboration with the Brazilian director Karïm Ainouz for several years now. Together with Ainouz, who was a fellowship-holder of the Berlin Artists' Programme in 2004, Gomes wrote the screenplay for "Madame Satã", the portrait of the legendary singer from Rio de Janeiro, Joao Francisco dos Santos. "Madame Satã" was premiered in the series Un Certain Regard at the International Film Festival in Cannes in 2002 and was a great success at cinemas worldwide. The film received several prizes at festivals including Chicago, Biarritz, Huelva and São Paulo.

In 2005, Marcelo Gomes was represented in the series Un Certain Regard at Cannes with his first feature film of his own: the filmmaker's debut film at the Croisette was "Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus" (2005), a road movie about travel through the North-East of Brazil and simultaneously the story of a friendship between a German deserter and a Brazilian in the year 1945. Subsequently the film (which received production support from the highly-regarded Hubert Bals Fund) won the "Prix de l'Education Nationale". "Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus" was shown at over 60 film festivals and received 23 international awards.

Gomes' most recent project, again as co-director with Karïm Ainouz, is a documentary. In "Sertão de Acrílico Azul Piscina" (Pool-Blue Backlands) the filmmakers take a critical look at the modernisation of an isolated stretch of land in the North-East of Brazil.
In 2004 further collaboration with Karïm Ainouz took place in the context of the 26th Art Biennial in São Paulo, where both artists were represented by a joint video installation.

During his stay in Berlin, Marcelo Gomes aims to work on the screenplay for his second feature film: "The Man of the Crowd", loosely based on the short story of the same name by Edgar Allan Poe. The film is being made in collaboration with the Brazilian short and documentary filmmaker Cao Guimaraes and tells the story of a man who suffers from an extreme loneliness, from which he can only escape in the anonymous mass of the 20-million person metropolis of São Paulo.

Print
Filmography
Maracatu, Maracatus (short film, 14 min, 35 mm) 1995
Clandestina Felicidade (short film, 15 min, 35 mm) 1998
Madame Satã (screenplay, 105 min, 35 mm) 2002
Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus (100 min, 35 mm) 2005
Events by DAAD
Director’s Night „Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus“

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Marcelo Gomes wurde 1962 in Recife im Nordwesten Brasiliens geboren, wo er auch heute noch lebt. Nach einem Journalistikstudium begab er sich nach Großbritannien, wo er, ausgestattet mit einem Stipendium des British Council, an der Bristol University Film studierte. Gomes’ erste filmische Arbeiten waren Videos, für die er zahlreiche Preise auf internationalen Festivals erhielt. Für die Kurzfilme "Maracatu, Maracatus" (1995) und "Clandestina Felicidade" (1998) wurde er ebenfalls mit Preisen in den Kategorien Drehbuch und Regie ausgezeichnet.
Mit dem brasilianischen Regisseur Karïm Ainouz verbindet Gomes eine inzwischen mehrjährige, intensive Zusammenarbeit. Gemeinsam mit Ainouz, der 2004 Stipendiat des Berliner Künstlerprogramms war, schrieb Gomes das Drehbuch zu "Madame Satã", das Portrait des legendären Sängers aus Rio de Janeiro, Joao Francisco dos Santos. "Madame Satã" feierte 2002 in der Reihe Un Certain Regard bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Cannes Premiere und wurde weltweit ein großer Kinoerfolg. Der Film erhielt viele Preise, u.a. auf den Filmfestivals in Chicago, Biarritz, Huelva und São Paulo.

2005 ist Marcelo Gomes mit seinem ersten eigenen Spielfilm in Cannes in der Reihe Un Certain Regard vertreten. Mit "Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus" (2005) – einem Roadmovie durch den Nordosten Brasiliens und zugleich der Geschichte einer Freundschaft zwischen einem deutschen Deserteur und einem Brasilianer im Jahre 1942 – gibt er an der Croisette sein Debut. Der Film, dessen Herstellung durch den renommierten Hubert Bals Fond unterstützt wurde, gewann daraufhin den "Prix de l’Education Nationale". "Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus" war auf über 60 Filmfestivals zu sehen und wurde weltweit mit 23 Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Gomes’ jüngstes Projekt, wieder in Co-Regie mit Karïm Ainouz, ist diesmal ein Dokumentarfilm. In "Sertão de Acrílico Azul Piscina" (Pool-blue Backlands) werfen die Filmemacher einen kritischen Blick auf die Modernisierung eines abgeschiedenen Landstriches im nordöstlichen Teil Brasiliens.
Zu einer weiteren Zusammenarbeit mit Karïm Ainouz kam es 2004 im Rahmen der 26. Kunst-Biennale in São Paulo, wo beide Künstler mit einer gemeinsamen Videoinstallation vertreten waren.

Während seines Aufenthalts in Berlin will Marcelo Gomes an dem Drehbuch seines zweiten Spielfilms schreiben: "The Man of the Crowd" frei nach der gleichnamigen Erzählung von Edgar Allan Poe. Der Film entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit dem brasilianischen Kurz- und Dokumentarfilmer Cao Guimaraes und erzählt die Geschichte eines Mannes, der unter panischer Einsamkeit leidet und dieser nur mehr in der anonymen Masse der 20-Millionen-Metropole São Paulo entfliehen kann.

Print
Filmografie
Maracatu, Maracatus (Kurzfilm, 14 min, 35 mm) 1995
Clandestina Felicidade (Kurzfilm, 15 min, 35 mm) 1998
Madame Satã (Drehbuch, 105 min, 35 mm) 2002
Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus (100 min, 35 mm) 2005
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Director’s Night „Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus“

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK